In Association With Mysteries Magazine!
5/23/08  #470
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html
You can view this newsletter online at:
http://uforeview.tripod.com/conspiracyjournal470.html

SHHHH - Be Vewy, Vewy qwiet! We's hunting CONSPIRACIES! Yes that's right! Watch out secret government cabals! Look over your shoulders Men-In-Black! Check your altitude variance you silly flying saucer folks! Because once again Conspiracy Journal is here to rip off the veils of intrigue and secrecy from those dedicated to keeping mankind in the dark.

This week Conspiracy Journal takes a look at such chilling tales as:

- Secret of the Skulls -- The Story Behind the Latest "Indy" Movie -
Morgellons Disease May Be Linked to Genetically Modified Food -
- UFOs Do Exist - We've Seen Them -
- Ghosts Shouting For 'Help' Among Cyclone Survivors -
AND: Ghost Girl Blamed For Car Crashes

All these exciting stories and MORE in this week's issue of
CONSPIRACY JOURNAL!

~ And Now, On With The Show! ~


LITTLE GREEN MEN ARE NOT FROM MARS!
 
UFOS, TIME SLIPS, OTHER REALMS AND THE SCIENCE OF FAIRIES

An attempt has been made by the self-styled luminaries of UFOlogy to convince the public that the entire phenomenon can be explained in terms of craft visiting Earth from Outer Space. The truth is exceedingly more complex and weirder than anything you might imagine.

CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING:

The occupants of these "craft" come in all shapes and sizes and have the ability to mesmerize those they encounter.

They are able to cloak themselves in various disguises and have made deceitful attempts to convince those who observe their activities that they are visitors from another planet ... even if their claims are contrary to the evidence.

A hundred years ago the good citizenry might have identified these denizens as fairies or Leprechauns, whereas in this technological age the term" alien" is more applicable.

These beings often behave more like specters, phantoms or spooks, rather than flesh and blood creatures from another planet. They can materialize as inter-dimensional shape shifters able to change form at will. Frequently they "abduct" humans and take them to "another land: where a slippage in time occurs. When the hapless mortals return to this "state of being" hundreds of years may have expired.

UFOS, TIME SLIPS, OTHER REALMS, AND THE SCIENCE OF FAIRIES incorporates a rare manuscript by Edwin Hartland on the existence of a kingdom of elementals consisting of fairies, dwarfs, fire sprites and earth lights, as well as the updated research of top notch researchers whose investigations into this "alternative reality" reach conclusions that will astound and amaze.

This book is FRESH OFF THE PRESSES and as a SPECIAL OFFER only for CONSPIRACY JOURNAL READERS we are offering this book for ONLY
$18.00 plus $5.00 for shipping...A GREAT PRICE!


ORDER NOW WITH PAYPAL
UFOs, Time Slips, Other Realms and the Science of Fairies


OR -You can order with our secure order page:  
CLICK HERE TO ORDER

You can also phone in your credit card orders to Global Communications
24-hour hotline: 732-602-3407

And as always you can send a check or money order to:
Global Communications
P.O. Box 753
New Brunswick, NJ  08903

NOW ON SALE!
MYSTERIES MAGAZINE  #20

In This Incredible Issue:
Sleep Paralysis, Split Personalities,
and Spirit Possession

Michelle Belanger: Life as a Psychic Vampire

Science and Psychism:The Future of Artificial Intelligence

From Microbes to Monoliths:The Search for Life on Mars

PLUS: From Dwarfs to Giants: Sightings of Unusually Sized Humans

News Blackouts and the Non-Reporting of UFOs

The Mysterious Disappearance of Agatha Christie

College Campus Urban Legends:Tall Tales that Students Tell

Moonville, OH:A Haunted Railroad Town

Virginia’s Twitching Illness and Other Mass Maladies

The Children of God:Jesus Freaks and Flirty Fishing

Get your issue TODAY at your favorite bookstore or magazine stand.

www.mysteriesmagazine.com

- CRYSTAL SKULLS ARE HERE TO SAVE US DEPARTMENT -

Secret of the Skulls -- The Story Behind the Latest "Indy" Movie

A tale of archeological intrigue as captivating as any Indiana Jones plot is behind his new death-defying adventure in the "Kingdom of the Crystal Skull", which was released on     May 22.

"We always find an artifact that is real, that people believe in, that archaeologists have looked for or already found and that has a supernatural aspect to it," George Lucas told journalists at Cannes.

The story began in 1924 when famed British banker-turned-adventurer Frederick Mitchell-Hedges, then on a search for the lost continent of Atlantis in the Central American jungle, turned up a sculpted human skull carved in a block of translucent quartz crystal.

His daughter, who toured the world with it until her death at 100 in 2007, claimed experiencing strange sensations on touching it and having dreams of ancient Mayan rituals at night.

Dubbed the "Skull of Doom" due to its supposed supernatural power to bring misfortune, the artifact , Mitchell-Hedges said, was close to 3,600 years old.

Subsequently other crystal skulls turned up, some finding their way into prized museum collections, others privately owned -- and all giving rise to speculation on their origins and use.

Some said the skulls were wrought by aliens, others that they contained psychic energy.

"All of the artifacts that have been looked for have never been proven to exist or have been proven to have the powers that have been ascribed to them," Lucas added. "But there are a lot of people who believe in it."

But over the past decade experts voiced growing doubts over the Aztec origin of the crystal skulls, one of which is in the British Museum, another at Washington's Smithsonian Institute.

And last month, a Paris museum acknowledged its own star exhibit crystal skull was not what it was cracked up to be.

One of only a dozen such skulls known to exist worldwide, the Quai Branly museum's piece was acquired in 1878 from another Indiana Jones-type explorer, Alphonse Pinart, as an Aztec masterpiece believed to be hundreds of years old, the remnant of an ancient and mysterious civilisation.

The museum now says that rather than dating from the Aztec period, it was probably made in the 19th century.

From May 20 the Paris skull goes on view to coincide with the world release of the fourth installment in Harrison Ford's archaeologist's adventures since the 1981 blockbuster "Raiders of the Lost Ark".

Legend has it that the Paris skull represents the Aztecs' Mictlantecuhtli, who reigned over the land of the deceased, Mictlan. Reuniting all 12 existing skulls plus a supposed-to-exist 13th could prevent the earth from tipping over, according to fable.

The Quai Branly said results of an analysis of its skull in 2007-2008 by the country's C2RMF research and restoration centre "seem to indicate that it was made late in the 19th century."

The London skull was examined twice, in 1996 and 2004, and both studies tended to prove it was a fake, though the final conclusions have not been made public.

Fashioned in clear quartz crystal and 11 centimetres (4.4 inches) high, the Paris skull is marked by grooves and perforations that "reveal the use of jewellery burrs and other modern tools," the museum said.

"Never has such technical precision been found in pre-Colombian art."

C2RMF engineers Thomas Calligaro and Yvan Coquinot told AFP that three months of analysis of the skull highlighted that the piece "is certainly not pre-Columbian, it shows traces of polishing and abrasion by modern tools."

Analysis by a particle accelerator had also shown traces of water dating from the 19th century, they said.

Like the London skull, the Paris piece was once in the hands of Eugene Boban, a controversial Paris dealer in archeological objects believed to be well aware of the production of fake antiquities.

But though no crystal skull yet found at archeological digs has proved to be authentic, the 12 located around the world continue to arouse interest and speculation.

Apart from the Paris, London and Smithsonian skulls, nine belong to private individuals -- the skull of doom, the Sha-Na-Ra skull, the synergy skull, the Max skull, the Mayan skull, a so-called E.T. skull, the amethyst skull, the reliquary cross skull and the pink crystal skull.

Each skull was supposed to correspond to 12 worlds in which human life was present. They were brought by the Itza, the ancient people of Atlantis, to their civilisation in order to pass on their knowledge to man.

The 13th world, the land, also had its own crystal skull, and all 13 skulls were kept in a great pyramid by the Olmecs, the Mayas and ultimately the Aztecs.

The Aztecs are said to have been responsible for the dispersal and loss of the skulls, which when brought together possessed great powers, including being lined up on the last day of the Mayan calendar -- December 21, 2012 -- to prevent the earth from tipping over.

Source: AFP
http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5iZa5MGkNH6io6baNyLIiRLsr_yZg

- NATURE OR MANMADE DEPARTMENT -

Morgellons Disease May Be Linked to Genetically Modified Food

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has given care giant Kaiser Permanente over $300,000 to test and interview 150 to 500 patients suffering from Morgellons Disease. The study will be done in northern California where many Morgellons patients live.

Prior to this news, people had written off the disease as a hoax or the result of hypochondria. But recent evidence suggests that the disease is indeed real, and may be related to genetically modified (GM) food.

What is Morgellons Disease?

On August 1, 2007, the CDC issued the following statement regarding Morgellons Disease: “Morgellons is an unexplained and debilitating condition that has emerged as a public health concern. Recently, the CDC has received an increased number of inquiries from the public, health care providers, public health officials, Congress, and the media regarding this condition. Persons who suffer from this condition report a range of coetaneous symptoms including crawling, biting and stinging sensations; granules, threads or black speck-like materials on or beneath the skin; and/or lesions (e.g., rashes or sores) and some sufferers also report systemic manifestations such as fatigue, mental confusion, short term memory loss, joint pain, and changes in vision. Moreover, some who suffer from this condition appear to have substantial morbidity and social dysfunction, which can include decreased work productivity or job loss, total disability, familial estrangement, divorce, loss of child custody, home abandonment, and suicidal ideation.”

As of February, 2007, approximately 10,000 families had registered with the Morgellons Research Foundation (MRF) and felt they or a member of their family met criteria for Morgellons as defined by the MRF. Of the U.S. families in the MRF registry, 24% reside in California with geographic clustering in the San Francisco metropolitan areas.

In New Science magazine, Sept. 15-21 edition, Daniel Elkan describes a patient who for years has been “finding tiny blue, red and black fibers growing from intensely itchy lesions on his skin.” These fibers appear like pliable plastic and can be several millimeters long. Some appear in a zig-zag pattern. These fibers can be as fine as spider silk, yet they are strong enough to distend the skin when pulled.

A May 18, 2006 story carried by KGW, a local news channel in Oregon, recounts the story of a family practice doctor experiencing the disease. She reported feeling like bugs were crawling under her skin. “If I fully tell people what has gone on with me medically, they think they’re in the twilight zone,” said Dr. Drottar who woke up with the feeling that fluid was flowing just below her skin. When black or blue hair-like fibers protruded from her skin, she reported thinking she had been exposed to asbestos. “I thought I was having asbestos fibers come out of my skin. I was pulling long, thin, small hair-like fibers that were extremely sharp that could literally pierce through my finger nail.”

According to Dr. Drottar, these symptoms were accompanied by severe depression, chronic fatigue and a weakened immune system. This debilitating condition forced her to give up her medical practice.

Effective treatment for Morgellons suffers has been elusive. Doctors have claimed that this type of disease must be caused by a parasite, but even the strongest anti-parasitic medications have not helped. In the past, psychologists have insisted that this was a new version of delusional parasitosis, a form of psychosis in which suffers hold a delusional belief that they are infected by parasites.

The Morgellons, GM Link

According to the CDC statement, the etiology of Morgellons is unknown, and the medical community has insufficient information to determine whether persons who identify themselves as having the disease have a common cause for their symptoms. In April, 2006, the CDC recommended an epidemiologic investigation. It was not until January 16, 2008 that the care grant to Kaiser Permanente was announced.

In the meantime, a research team from Oklahoma State University lead by Dr. Randy Wymore, studied some of the fibers sent to them by Morgellons patients. They discovered that fibers from different people looked remarkably similar to each other and yet seemed to match no common environmental fibers.

Ahmed Kilani, a specialist in infectious disease detection, claimed to have broken down two fiber samples and extracted their DNA. He found that they belonged to a fungus.

In an even more provocative finding, Vitaly Citovsky, Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology at Stony Brook University in New York, discovered that the fibers contained the substance Agrobacterium, a genus of gram-negative bacteria capable of genetically transforming not only plants, but also other eukaryotic species, including human cells.

Anonymous samples were provided to Professor Citovsky by the Morgellons Research Foundation to use in investigating the potential presence of Agrobacterium in biopsies from Morgellons patients. Control reactions included samples provided by healthy donors. Only Morgellons, not healthy subjects, tested positive in these studies.

According to a statement issued by Professor Citovsky, this observation does not imply that Agrobacterium causes Morgellons or that Morgellons is indeed an infectious disease. However, it does encourage future studies to determine (1) statistical significance of data, (2) whether Agrobacterium is not only present extracellularly, but also causes genetic transformation of the infected tissues, and (3) whether infection of laboratory animals with Agrobacterium can recreate symptoms of Morgellons.

Sources:

“Background information on the involvement of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in the investigation of Morgellons disease in the U.S.", published by the CDC.

“Skin Disease May Be Linked to GM Food”, Whitley Strieber’s Unknown Country, Oct. 12, 2007.

“Serious Study of Mystery Disease” Whitney Strieber’s Unknown Country, Jan. 31, 2008.

“GMO Disease Epidemics: (10) Bt-cotton Fiber Disease”, Myron Stagman, Ph.D., Portland independent media center

Morgellons Watch, "Clarification from Vitaly Citovsky"

Source: Natural News/Barbara L. Minton
http://www.naturalnews.com/z023004.html

- SEEING IS BELIEVING DEPARTMENT -

UFOs Do Exist - We've Seen Them

They may sound too bizarre to be credible, but they make gripping reading nonetheless — the first-hand accounts of five ordinary Britons who claim to have seen UFOs in our skies.

After the Ministry of Defence released details last week of around 7,000 sightings since 1977 — including reports from policemen, military pilots and air traffic controllers — FEMAIL went back to five of them to hear their incredible stories.

RUTH NOVELLI, 61, lives in Bushey, Hertfordshire, with husband Bruno, 60. In 1984 Ruth reported a UFO sighting to the MoD.

She says: To this day, my children have never forgiven me for not waking them up the night my neighbour and I spent several hours gazing at what looked like a UFO in the night sky.

Twenty-four years on and it's come back to haunt me with the previously secret Ministry of Defence report in which my sighting is recorded.

It was April 26, 1984, and as night fell, we saw out of the kitchen window what looked like a huge shining star in the sky. It started to change colour — pinks, reds, blues and greens — and there were balls of light coming off the sides.

The object stayed in the sky, occasionally moving sharply back and forth and side to side. We lived close to the Bentley Priory RAF headquarters so initially decided that if it wasn't a star, it was perhaps military equipment being tested.

Suddenly, an almighty flash of bright light passed over our houses and we were so panicked that we called the RAF HQ. They claimed they knew nothing about it, so my neighbour and I called the police.

Almost immediately, they came and blocked off our road while scrutinising the sky. We were asked to fill out lots of forms detailing what had happened.

Nobody ever told us what it was we'd seen, but the following day local papers carried reports of strange lights sighted above the Thames. A friend of a friend said she'd seen something similar on the same night.

The weirdest part of the whole episode was when a local UFO enthusiast called me a few days later.

LYNN JONES, 33, lives in Wrexham, Wales, with partner Leigh, 32, and their three children. In 2007, she saw strange lights hovering over the town. The MoD was alerted but the lights remain unexplained.

Until the day I saw a UFO myself I had never even thought about them — I didn't believe such things happened. But even now, when I look back on what I saw, I can feel the fear creeping over me again — it was a truly terrifying experience.

It was 12.30am and I was in bed when Leigh came rushing in saying he could see strange lights in the sky. I felt so sleepy I waved him away, but he drew back the curtains and I literally gasped at the sight.

There in front of us was a formation of seven brilliant white and yellow lights, which together had formed the shape of a cigar. Leigh and I were dumbstruck. We opened the window and listened for any noise but there was none.

Yet, the lights above us were clear as could be — they were incredibly white and mesmerising. We decided to use the video camera so we could zoom in on the sighting.

As I went to find it, I felt frightened. I hoped that looking through the video would reveal it was just a plane, but it wasn't.

The next day I phoned my local paper to see if anyone else had seen anything. It turned out the police had received a phone call in the middle of the night — and the paper had also received sightings from around six other people in the area all describing the same thing.

Since then I've been contacted by a number of UFO enthusiasts all wanting to see the film.

Through them I've discovered that this area is renowned for UFO sightings — it was near here that the "Welsh Roswell" happened in 1974 in the Berwyn Mountains when one day a huge tremor was felt and police later found the remains of an unidentified object.

Rumours are that the military destroyed a UFO.

To be honest, I have tried to put it out of my mind. I found it very unsettling and going over it all again raises more questions than it answers.
Nevertheless, it would be correct to say I am now more open-minded to the possibility that we may not be alone.

YVONNE UNDERWOOD, 51, lives with husband Richard, 54, in Northampton. At 9.30pm on February 3 this year, she saw a UFO.

My husband and I live in a beautiful location, next to a golf course, and because we don't have any close neighbours we never draw the curtains.

Then one day, while I was watching a film on TV, I glanced out the window and was left aghast. There in the sky I could see five bluey-white lights. I leapt out of bed to get a better look.

They were moving steadily and very low in an oblong formation. I felt my mouth go dry wondering if it was some aircraft going to crash land. We often have police helicopters fly over our house but this was something else — there was no noise at all.

I shouted to Richard to come and look. But as he did the lights seemed to pass by the house and out of view of the bedroom window. I ran to the front of the house, where from one of the bedrooms there is a balcony.

As I opened the door my hands began to shake. It sounds silly now but I wondered what on earth I'd find. The lights had been so low I almost expected to see something in the front garden. But there was nothing at all.

I came back in the house visibly shaking and terribly frustrated that Richard hadn't seen it as well.

A few days later I was still so bothered that I contacted our local newspaper. I wanted to know if anyone else had seen them or if there was some logical explanation.

They contacted the MoD, who confirmed nothing untoward had gone on that night — however, there had been 27 such sightings in Northamptonshire in the past decade.

Over the next few weeks I was teased by a few friends and I think my children thought I had lost the plot. I kept going over the incident in my head but I still couldn't come up with any explanation.

I even tried to work out if what I saw was car lights reflecting on to the road that runs past our house.

A few weeks later I then discovered through my father-in-law that another man walking his dog nearby had also seen the same thing. Like me, he'd been astounded. His sighting tallied with mine.

It was a relief because until then I'd felt as if I were going mad. I've always had an open mind about UFOs but until February it never crossed my mind to even look at the sky for one.

Truthfully, it has shaken me — the worse thing is not having an explanation and realising however much you try to analyse what you saw, you will never know the truth.

SEAN TIERNEY, 46, runs the Hull UFO Society. He spotted a UFO in 2001 and reported it to the MoD, but no explanation was given. Sean says:

Vicki and I were driving through Scarborough in February 2001. It was just a normal night but it was clear and cold. Suddenly, I saw two bright white balls of lightmoving steadily, one in front of the other, about 4in apart.

I was so excited that my first reaction was to call my son Sean to come and meet us and video what we were witnessing. For me, it's more evidence in my mission to prove UFOs exist.

Since the age of 11 I have believed in the existence of alien lifeforms — it was also the same age I saw my first UFO, when I observed strange lights and what looked like meteor showers in the sky.

As an adult I was more interested than ever and aged 21 went to my first Hull UFO Society meeting. Now I'm running it. I've lost count of the exact number of times I've reported sightings to the MoD but it must be between 20 and 30 now.

During this particular sighting in 2001, though, we watched the lights for about eight or nine minutes before they were lost behind a building or a cloud.

I wasn't alarmed, just intrigued to watch it making its way across the sky.

When I looked on the Hull UFO Society website, I saw that other people had posted messages in the sightings section saying that the lights had been seen as far away as Nottingham.

I have tried to rationalise what I saw, but as there was no noise or flashing lights I'm sure it wasn't a military plane.

Just to be certain I wrote letters to Humberside Airport, Humberside Police and all the local RAF bases and the MoD, who all assured me there'd been no planes in the sky that night.

Intriguingly, the MoD confirmed that there'd been other sightings that night, although it refused to offer an explanation. I'm certain that what we saw was a UFO.

Source: The Daily Mail
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?
in_article_id=567200&in_page_id=1770

- STRANGE CREATURES FROM TIME AND SPACE DEPARTMENT -

The Biggest, Baddest Thunderbird of Them All

March 2008 reports of strange, flying creatures in Chile and other areas of South America, coupled with the November 2007 sighting made by Frank Ramirez of a large, bird-like creature buzzing South Texas, has set me to thinking about one of my favorite monsters, the Great Thunderbird. The Texas sightings included many accounts other than those made by Ramirez. Numerous individuals claimed to have seen a very large, raptor-like bird with an 18 to 20 foot wingspan.

Interestingly, in the last 100 years or so, many people have claimed to have seen a great bird, far larger than the eagle, flying overhead. In fact, numerous witnesses have claimed to have seen creatures that resembled pterodactyls, the winged reptiles that should have been extinct 60 million years ago.

A few weeks ago, my friend, author-researcher, Jerome Clark, knowing of my fascination with Thunderbird/pterodactyl reports, sent me an October 4, 1890 account of a “strange monster with wings, a monstrous head, with horns, a mouth like an alligator’s, its body green and covered with scales…and it … sounds like a combination of the roar of a lion and the scream of a wildcat.” This winged monstrosity was sighted near Independence, Iowa, over a hundred years ago, but we need not travel as far back in time to detail other very impressive Thunderbird accounts.

On April 9, 1948, a farm family outside of Caledonia, Illinois saw a monster bird that they all said was bigger than an airplane. In different parts of the state on the same day, a Freeport truck driver said that he, too, had seen the creature. A former army colonel admitted that he had seen a bird of tremendous size while he stood talking with the head of Western Military Academy and a farmer near Alton.

On April 10, several witnesses saw the gigantic bird. One man said that he had at first believed it to have been a type of plane that he had never before seen.

On April 24, back at Alton, a man described it as an enormous, incredible thing, flying at about 500 feet and casting a shadow the same size as that of a Piper Cub at the same height. Two policemen said that the monster bird was as big as a small airplane.
******

Numerous reports of birds the size of small airplanes were reported in southwest Pennsylvania in the summer and early fall of 2001.

On June 13, A resident in Greensville, who said that he was familiar with the wildlife in the area, at first mistook the huge bird for an ultralight aircraft. He estimated the wingspan to be about 15 feet and the body to be nearly five feet in length.

In July, a witness in Erie County claimed to have seen a large, black-colored bird with a wingspan of about 17 feet.

On September 25, a witness who said that he had a strong interest in ornithology, encountered a massive bird with a head about three feet long and a wingspan of 10 to 15 feet. On that same date, a witness sighted a giant bird flying over South Greensburg, Pennsylvania. Researchers soon found other witnesses who claimed to have had similar sightings in Westmoreland County, PA.

******

On November 5th, a resident of Bristol, Connecticut, who was out walking his dog at dawn, said that he had sighted a giant birdlike creature the size of an ultra-light plane flying over a community center.
******

In October 2002, Alaskan villagers in Togiak and Manokotak reported seeing a huge bird larger than anything they had seen before. Pilot John Bouker, owner of Bristol Bay Air Service, said that while flying to Manokotak he and his passengers sighted a large “raptorlike” bird with a wingspan that matched the length of his Cessna 207, about 14 feet. When Moses Coupchiak, a heavy equipment operator from Togiak, spotted the monster bird flying toward him, he said that he thought it was a small airplane until it banked to the left and flew away.

Biologists in the region said that they believed the witnesses sighted a bird known as the Steller’s sea eagle, a species native to northeast Asia, that occasionally shows up on the Aleutian islands and on Kodiak, Alaska. The Steller’s sea eagle can have a wingspan of eight feet and is about three times as large as a bald eagle.
******

Many scholars over the centuries have attributed the Native American tribal myths of the Thunderbird to their reverence for the eagle, the largest of indigenous birds in North America. The Thunderbird figures prominently in the tribal traditions of many Native American tribes. For some, it is the flapping of the Thunderbird’s great wings that one hears during rainstorms rumbling in the skies and it is the Thunderbird’s eyes and beak that flash the lightning. To the Lakota of the prairie, the Thunderbird is an embodiment of the Great Mystery, the Supreme Being, that created all things on earth. For the tribes of the Iroquois Confederacy of the northeast, Hino, the Thunderbird, guardian of the skies and the spirit of thunder, could assume the form of a human when it suited its purpose. The cosmology of many of the western tribes establish a Thunderbird in each of the four corners of the world as guardians and protectors, fighting always to keep away evil spirits.

In addition to the ancient Native American legends of the Thunderbird, there are certain old pioneer records that support the existence of giant birdlike creature in the skies of North America. From the mouth of the Illinois River at Grafton to Alton (Illinois), a distance of twenty miles, the Mississippi River runs from west to east, and its north bank (the Illinois side) is a high bluff. When the first white men explored the area, they found that some unknown muralist from some forgotten tribal culture had engraved and painted hideous depictions of two gigantic, winged monsters. The petroglyphs were each about thirty feet in length and twelve feet in height.

Father Marquette, the celebrated Jesuit priest-explorer, wrote in his journals of discoveries of the Mississippi, published in Paris in 1681. In a small volume published in 1698, Father Hennepin, another early explorer of the wilds of the west, had also described the two enormously large petroglyphs.

In my book Worlds Before Our Own (Anomalist Books, 2007), I tell of how I was gifted with the loan of a leather-bound 48-page booklet, The Piasa or The Devil Among the Indians (Morris, Ill., 1887) written by P. A. Armstrong . This venerable text described the creatures as having “the wings of a bat, but of the shape of an eagle's. . . . They also had four legs, each supplied with eagle-shaped talons. The combination and blending together of the master species of the earth, sea, and air . . . so as to present the leading and most terrific characteristics of the various species thus graphically arranged, is an absolute wonder and seems to show a vastly superior knowledge of animal, fowl, reptile, and fish nature than has been accorded to the Indian."

Whatever the petroglyphs truly represented, all the native tribes of what then constituted the Northwest Territory experienced dreadful encounters with with the creatures they called the Piasa (or Piusa). Some of the stories of the native people state that the Piasa was fond of bathing in the Mississippi and was a very rapid swimmer. When it was splashing about in the Father of Waters, it raised such a commotion as to force great waves over the banks. Other ancient traditions state that when the Piasa was angry it thrashed the ground with its tail until the whole earth shook and trembled. The Piasa was generally feared because of its propensity for snatching tribespeople and making off with them.

n the legends of the Miami tribe, the Miamis were fighting their traditional enemies, the Mestchegamies, at the upper end of the lower canyon near the cave of the Piasa. As the fighting was reaching its climax, the war whoops apparently disturbed the Piasa, and two fierce, winged creatures emerged from their caves, “uttering bellowings and shrieks, while the flapping of their wings upon the air roared out like so many thunderclaps.”

The awful winged beasts swooped low over the heads of the combatants, and each snatched a Miami chieftain in its massive talons. The Miamis became instantly demoralized, believing that the Great Spirit had sent the Piasa to aid and assist their enemies. The Miamis were so crippled as a nation that the survivors fled toward the Wabash River and did not feel safe until they had crossed its waters. Here they remained for generations before returning to Illinois territory.

If these stories are true, then the seeming assistance by the Piasa to the Mestchegamies in their desperate battle with the Miamis near Alton, Illinois, proved to be a terrible curse instead of a sudden blessing. Soon after the Piasa had flown off with the screaming and struggling Miami chieftains in their talons, the monsters apparently developed a taste for human flesh. Consequently, the Mestchegami came to pay for their victory over the Miamis through an unending sacrifice of their people to feed the ever hungry Piasa, which now seemed insatiable in their forays for human flesh.

Sometime in the 1840s, Professor John Russell of Jersey County, Illinois, explored the caves which the Piasa were said to have inhabited and reported that the roof of the cavern was nearly 20 feet high and vaulted. The shape of the cave was irregular, but so far as Professor Russell and his guide could judge the bottom averaged 20x30 feet.

According to Russell: “The floor of the cave throughout its whole extent was one mass of human bones. Skulls and other bones were mingled together in the utmost confusion....we dug to the depth of three or four feet in every quarter of the cavern and still found only bones. The remains of thousands must have been deposited there.”

Professor John Russell published an account of the Piasa's insatiable appetite for human flesh in the 1848 July number of The Evangelical Magazine and Gospel Advocate:
“[the Piasa] was artful as he was powerful, and would dart suddenly and unexpectedly upon an Indian, bear him off into one of the caves of the bluff and devour him. Hundreds of warriors attempted for years to destroy him, but without success. Whole villages were nearly depopulated, and consternation spread through all the tribes of the Illini.”

According to P.A. Armstrong's little book and his recounting of the Miami tradition, the Piasa existed “several thousand winters before the palefaces came.” Armstrong goes on to suggest the Piasa could have been surviving pterodactyls from the age of the great reptiles.

“The fossil remains of some 25 species of this monster have been found [circa 1887], and it is sometimes called the pterosaur or flying lizard,” he writes. “But the most singular monster of the age yet discovered [and its shape and component parts analyzed] is the ramphorhyneus, which seems to be a connective link between birds, beasts, and reptiles. Its body and neck resemble that of the Piasa, while its tail is identical with it, except it is pictured as dragging behind instead of being carried around the body or over its back and head. The shape of the head is drawn to resemble that of a duck, with the long bill of a snipe or bittern, but it is full of sharp, round teeth, like those of the crocodile. It had four legs, with eagle’s talons, and a pair of bat-like wings...its entire length from head to tip of tail was probably thirty feet or more. In many respects the Piasa is a faithful copy of the ramphorhyneus. The form, shape, and description of the Piasa, according to the Indian tradition, were painted from actual sight of the living subject....Thus may the traditions of these Indians be true....”

And if those traditions are true, then there may still be some Piasas--true living Thunderbirds--flying around in the skies above us today.

Source: UFO Digest/Brad Steiger
http://www.ufodigest.com/news/0508/thunderbird.html

- THE RESTLESS DEAD DEPARTMENT -

Ghosts Shouting For 'Help' Among Cyclone Survivors

In the middle of the night, in the worst-hit areas of the Myanmar cyclone, villagers hear voices from the fields.

"Hey …. help us, Hey … help us," the voices say. But when villagers search the fields with their torch lights, no one can be seen.

"We believe it must be the ghosts of those who died, because they died unnaturally in the cyclone," said a villager from Peinneakone village in Laputta Township, Irrawaddy Division, where Cyclone Nargis struck May 2-3.

Most Buddhists believe that the spirits of those who died in accidents are restless and continue to dwell near their loved ones.

"I heard people say they see their friends and family who died in the cyclone still sitting beside them," said a social worker who visited Kun Chan Kone Township in Rangoon Division.

"The spirits just stayed and move around their children as if they were still alive."

Many survivors were traumatized after they lost parents, children and belongings before their eyes.

A volunteer physician in Rangoon who is helping cyclone survivors in the Delta region said, "I think the survivors of the Cyclone have been mentally traumatized and they tend to lose control and see things and images and hear sounds. It might seem normal in the daylight but when night falls, people tend to hear the voices of their loved ones and see them."

"So, they might think it is spirits or ghosts," said the doctor.

Many dead bodies were floating on the water while survivors tried to escape from villages to get food and water near the township.

Burmese believe the ghosts cannot harm them, only haunt them.

One of the ghost stories being told goes like this: A soldier had a dream last week that the ghost of a woman slapped him, complaining that the soldier took her body away before her family had a chance to see it, and to confirm that she was dead. She also complained that the soldier took her body away without any clothing – in full view of the public.

Source: Mizzima
http://www.mizzima.com/nargis-impact/18-nargis-impact/536-ghosts-shouting-for-help-
among-cyclone-survivors

- WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT DEPARTMENT -

Ghost Girl Blamed For Car Crashes

The ghostly apparition of a girl is being blamed for a series of crashes on a stretch of country road.

Spooky sightings of a girl aged about five, in Victorian dress, on a road in the West Midlands are now being investigated by paranormal researchers.

The late-night 'visions' are occurring along Oldnall Road in Halesowen, near Birmingham, and are believed to have been responsible for a number of crashes and near-misses in the area in recent years.

David Taylor, chairman of the 'Parasearch' group which has been investigating the claims, said he had not found a rational explanation so far.

He added: 'Although the people who have reported the sightings didn't actually crash, they were close to it because they had to swerve around the apparition and up on to the pavement.

'It could be an optical illusion of some sort.

'The area around there is an accident blackspot and there have been some serious incidents, so maybe they had all seen the same thing.'

Mr Taylor has been investigating claims of paranormal activity for 22 years.

He said: 'Most of the time there is a logical explanation but, so far, I haven't found one for this case.'

Resident Jimmy Lahn, 54, said: 'We've had quite a few accidents on that road. I wouldn't be surprised if this ghostly figure has something to do with it. It is seen as a bit of an accident blackspot around these parts – and maybe now we know why.'

A West Midlands Police spokesman said the most recent incidents included a crash involving a motorbike and a car in November while last July a woman was taken to hospital after a collision on the same stretch.

Source: The Metro (UK)
http://www.metro.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=148231&in_page_id=34

Sign up today for Bizarre Bazaar and Conspiracy Journal Magazines

Click on banner to sign up for two FREE magazines!


Visit TheUFOstore.com


UFO Casebook


UFO Magazine

Conspiracy Journal - Issue 470 5/23/08
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html