Make your own free website on Tripod.com




In Association With Mysteries Magazine!
8/29/08  #484
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html
You can view this newsletter online at:
http://uforeview.tripod.com/conspiracyjournal484.html

Who can it be knocking at my door? Make no sound, tip-toe across the floor. If he hears, he'll knock all day. I'll be trapped, and here I'll have to stay. Who can it be now? It's the Conspiracy Journal, here once again to bring you joy and information and a bit of fun as well.

This week Conspiracy Journal brings you such fly-on-the-wall stories as:

- Defense Intelligence Agency Seeking "Mind Control" Weapons -
- Are UFOs Alive? -
- Hungry Ghost Month -
- 'Dancing Plague' and Other Odd Afflictions Explained -
AND: Woman Claims Metal Wire Grows From Her Body

All these exciting stories and MORE in this week's issue of
CONSPIRACY JOURNAL!

~ And Now, On With The Show! ~


CONSPIRACY JOURNAL PRESENTS

THE COMPLETE WORKS OF CHARLES FORT!

YOU MUST HAVE THESE BOOKS FOR YOUR PARANORMAL COLLECTION!

FIRST LARGE PRINT EDITION OF THE COMPLETE WORKS OF CHARLES FORT . . . The Father Of Unexplained Phenomenon.

Charles Fort was a collector of strange tales which he gleamed from dusty newspapers and out of print scientific journals. He spent over 20 years in public libraries in the UK and later in America where he combed the shelves of the NY Public Library in search of the strange and unknown. This resulted in 4 works of approximately 1,000 pages pertaining to the most unusual subjects you are likely to read about anywhere in any era. . .and the stories are well researched and documented.

Fort's works have long been sought after and were finally made available long after his death. We are proud to be able to present the following four volumes in never before presented large print editions. The books in this set are:

1. WILD TALENTS -- 2. BOOK OF THE DAMNED -- 3. NEW LANDS. 4. LO!

In a breezy easy to read style Fort presents hundreds of episodic tales from the borderland of human understanding such as. . .

Strange Disappearances. . . The Man Who Couldn't Drown. . . Mysterious Cattle Rippers. . . Blonde Beast of Patagonia. . . Human Vampires. . . Lake and River Creatures. . . Bizarre Slayer of Sheep. . . Spontaneous Human Combustion. . . Mirages of Cities and Towns. . . Phantom Figures. . .The Original Cat Burglar. . . Original UFOs and Airships. . . Submarine Objects. . . Possible UFOnauts. . . Fossils in Meteorites. . . AND MUCH MORE!


This complete set normally sells for $69.95 - BUT, WITH THIS SPECIAL OFFER, you can have all four of these incredible books for the SPECIAL PRICE OF ONLY $45.00
(Plus $10.00 for shipping.) You can't find this special collection for this price anywhere else, so order right now before this special Conspiracy Journal Offer is withdrawn!

Click Here to Order With PayPal


OR -You can order with our secure order page:  
CLICK HERE TO ORDER

You can also phone in your credit card orders to Global Communications
24-hour hotline: 732-602-3407

And as always you can send a check or money order to:
Global Communications
P.O. Box 753
New Brunswick, NJ  08903

MYSTERIES MAGAZINE  #21

In This Incredible Issue:

FEATURES:

The Mysterious Subterranean Realms of California.

The Mysterious Blast at California’s Port Chicago.

California’s Lake Monsters.

PsiSpies: The History of Remote Viewing.
By Louis Proud

COLUMNS
strange customs   
Italian Community Secretly Builds Breathtaking Underground Temples

Commentary   
The Dangers of Hallucinogens

Urban Legends   
Amusement Parks:Fodder for Scary Stories

Haunted Heritage   
Ghostly Activities at California’s Cal-Neva Resort

Arcane Cults   
The John Frum Movement:A South Pacific CargoCult

From the Skies   
2008:The Year of the UFO?

Interview   
Mary Ann Winkowski:The Original Ghost Whisperer


Now at your favorite bookstore or magazine stand.

www.mysteriesmagazine.com

COSMIC HORIZONS RADIO NOW ON SUNDAY NIGHTS
BEGINNING SEPT. 7


Be sure to tune in to Cosmic Horizons Radio on www.blogtalkradio.com, Sunday Nights at 8:00PM EST, starting September 7.  Join host James Haarp, and special guest host Tim Swartz, editor of Conspiracy Journal on September 7 as they discuss conspiracies, UFOs and other fascinating topics from the world of the weird.  Don't forget to call in live with your questions at: 347-945-5777



- YOUR MIND IS OURS DEPARTMENT -

Defense Intelligence Agency Seeking "Mind Control" Weapons

A new report from the National Academy of Sciences' National Research Council (NRC) argues that the Pentagon should harvest the fruits of neuroscientific research in order to enhance the "warfighting" capabilities of U.S. soldiers while diminishing those of enemy personnel.

The 151-page report issued by a 16-member blue ribbon commission, "Cognitive Neuroscience Research and National Security," was quietly announced in an August 13 National Academy of Sciences Press Release.

Commissioned by the Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA), the Pentagon spy shop, the study asserts that the U.S. intelligence "community" must do a better job following cutting-edge research in neuroscience or as is more likely, steering it along paths useful to the Defense Department. According to the NRC,

A 2005 National Research Council report described a methodology for gauging the implications of new technologies and assessing whether they pose a threat to national security. In this new report, the committee applied the methodology to the neuroscience field and identified several research areas that could be of interest to the intelligence community: neurophysiological advances in detecting and measuring indicators of psychological states and intentions of individuals, the development of drugs or technologies that can alter human physical or cognitive abilities, advances in real-time brain imaging, and breakthroughs in high-performance computing and neuronal modeling that could allow researchers to develop systems which mimic functions of the human brain, particularly the ability to organize disparate forms of data. ("National Security Intelligence Organizations should Monitor Advances in Cognitive Neuroscience Research," National Academy of Sciences, Press Release, August 13, 2008)

Unlocking the secrets of the brain is projected as the next growth industry for the military, academia and corporate grifters hoping to land huge Pentagon contracts. As defense analyst Noah Shachtman reported in Wired, the "Army has given a team of University of California researchers a $4 million grant to study the foundations of "synthetic telepathy." Unlike "remote viewing" research funded by the CIA and the Defense Intelligence Agency between 1972 and 1996, variously known as "Grill Flame," "Sun Streak" and finally, "Star Gate" before the plug was pulled, the Army-U.C. Irvine joint venture are exploring thought transmission via a brain-computer mediated interface.

Recently New Scientist reported on a series of bizarre experiments at the University of Reading in the UK. Researchers there have connected 300,000 disembodied rat neurons suspended in "a pink broth of nutrients and antibiotics" to 80 electrodes at the base of the growth medium. As journalist Paul Marks informs us, the "rat neurons have made--and continue to make--connections with each other." The voltages sparked by the firing cells are displayed on a computer screen.

Welcome to the "brave new world" of neural prosthetics and the militarists who are exploiting science and technology for new weapons applications.

Declaring that emerging technologies such as brain imaging and cognitive and physical enhancers are "desired by the public," NRC avers "such forces act as strong market incentives for development." But as Rick Weiss cautions on the Science Progress blog,

But even more interesting to me is the report's discussion of the emerging market in brain-targeted, performance-degrading techniques. Some experiments, it turns out, suggest that magnetic beams can be used to induce seizures in people, a tempting addition to the military's armamentarium. More conventionally, as scientists discover new chemicals that can blur thinking or undermine an enemy's willpower, and as engineers design aerosolized delivery systems that can deliver these chemicals directly to the lungs (and from there, the brains) of large groups of people, the prospect of influencing the behavior of entire enemy regiments becomes real. ("Minding Mental Minefields," Science Progress, August 15, 2008)

The use of so-called calmative agents as non-lethal weapons are already under development. As Antifascist Calling reported last month in "The Calmative Before the Storm," the Pentagon's Joint Non-Lethal Weapons Directorate (JNLWD) are carrying out experiments into what it euphemistically calls "Human Effects Research" and developing an "Advanced Total Body Model for predicting the effects of non-lethal impacts."

Apparently the DIA has taken this a step further and will now explore the possibility of creating aerosolized pharmacological agents that can disrupt and perhaps influence, the mental functioning of targeted populations abroad, enemy soldiers or dissenting citizens here in the United States.

Neil Davison, a researcher with the Bradford Disarmament Research Centre (BDRC) at Bradford University in the UK, wrote an important 2007 study, "'Off the Rocker' and 'On the Floor': The Continued Development of Biochemical Incapacitating Weapons." Davison examined the historical differentiation made by weaponeers between "off the rocker" agents such as LSD, PCP and psilocybin in their allegedly weaponized forms versus "on the floor" agents such as sedatives, opiate analgesics and anesthetic chemicals.

During the "golden age" of the CIA and U.S. Army's quixotic search for "mind control" agents during the 1950s and 1960s, researchers were seeking a reliable mechanism that would unlock the secrets of the mind--and gain control over witting or unwitting subjects--for intelligence and counterintelligence purposes. Hundreds, if not thousands, of unethical experiments were carried out on psychiatric patients, civilians and soldiers. The results were subsequently suppressed on grounds on "national security."

While the majority of CIA MKULTRA files were ordered destroyed by former Agency Director Richard Helms in 1973, the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence held landmark 1977 hearings and issued a report, "Project MKULTRA, The CIA's Program of Research in Behavioral Modification." As Senator Ted Kennedy discussed in his opening remarks,

Some 2 years ago, the Senate Health Subcommittee heard chilling testimony about the human experimentation activities of the Central Intelligence Agency. The Deputy Director of the CIA revealed that over 30 universities and institutions were involved in an "extensive testing and experimentation" program which included covert drug tests on unwitting citizens "at all social levels, high and low, native Americans and foreign." Several of these tests involved the administration of LSD to "unwitting subjects in social situations." ...

We believed that the record, incomplete as it was, was as complete as it was going to be. Then one individual, through a Freedom of Information request, accomplished what two U.S. Senate committees could not. He spurred the agency into finding additional records pertaining to the CIA's program of experimentation with human subjects. ... The records reveal a far more extensive series of experiments than had previously been thought. Eighty-six universities or institutions were involved. New instances of unethical behavior were revealed.

The Central Intelligence Agency drugged American citizens without their knowledge or consent. It used university facilities and personnel without their knowledge. It funded leading researchers, often without their knowledge. (emphasis added)

While the CIA's MKULTRA project and related Army ventures carried out at the U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases (USAMRIID) at Ft. Detrick, Maryland, may have failed to develop specific agents that could be wielded as a "mind control" weapon, the research did result in the development of abusive interrogation techniques that can only be characterized as torture.

As Antifascist Calling queried in "Neuroscience, National Security & the 'War on Terror'," "If behavioral psychology was handmaid to the horrors perpetrated at Guantánamo Bay, Abu Ghraib and CIA transnational 'black sites,' what new nightmares are in store for humanity when advances in neuroscience, complex computer algorithms and a secretive national security state enter stage (far) right?"

Apparently horrors of the "mind control" variety, particularly when it comes to applications for ever-newer and more insidious interrogation/control techniques to be used on "enemy combatants" or dissenting malefactors in the heimat.

According to the NRC and the corporate-academic grifters involved in the research, cognitive warfare should be sold as a "more humane" method of advancing imperialist objectives. As the report baldly states, the equation "pills instead of bullets" will be the preferred marketing technique employed for "selling" the program to the American people. As anthropologist Hugh Gusterson wrote,

The military and scientific leaders chartering neuroweapons research will argue that the United States is a uniquely noble country that can be trusted with such technologies, while other countries (except for a few allies) cannot. They will also argue that these technologies will save lives and that U.S. ingenuity will enable the United States to dominate other countries in a neuroweapons race. When it is too late to turn back the clock, they will profess amazement that other countries caught up so quickly and that an initiative intended to ensure American dominance instead led to a world where everyone is threatened by chemicalized soldiers and roboterrorists straight out of Blade Runner. (The militarization of neuroscience," Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, 9 April 2007)

But as the world looked on in horror at Abu Ghraib and Guantánamo Bay, this "uniquely noble country" guided by "ethical principles," resorted to repugnant methods such as sensory deprivation, near drowning and "self-inflicted pain" techniques (short-shackling and the like) to achieve control over defenseless prisoners.

As the NRC would have it, academics in thrall to corporate funding and state agencies staffed by war criminals now expect us to believe that "ethics" will guide those exploring pharmacological methods to obtain more insidious means to subjugate humanity.

Weiss reports that the NRC notes in its report, the motivation, or lack thereof, to fight, is of great concern to Pentagon bureaucrats and policy makers. "So one question," for military-corporate-academic funded research "would be, 'How can we disrupt the enemy's motivation to fight?' Other questions raised by controlling the mind: 'How can we make people trust us more?' 'What if we could help the brain to remove fear or pain?' 'Is there a way to make the enemy obey our commands?'...As cognitive neuroscience and related technologies become more pervasive, using technology for nefarious purposes becomes easier."

But as is usual with all such screeds, the psychoanalytic theory of projection comes in handy when deciphering the monstrous intent of Pentagon weaponeers. It is all-too-clear whether we are discussing nuclear, biological, chemical or contemporaneously, cognitive weapons that Western proponents of preemptive war, always couch their acts of violent imperialist aggression in purely defensive terms.

In this light, Freud and his followers have defined projection as a form of defense in which unwanted feelings are displaced onto another person, and where aggressive impulses then appear as a threat from the external world. In the case of corporate defense and security grifters, their militarist pit bulls and the academic sycophants who fuel their deranged "cognitive warfare" fantasies, the other--a nation, a dispossessed class or a bogeyman such as "international terrorism"--are always the external harbingers of apocalyptic death and destruction, when in reality such fantasies are wholly reflective of their own desire to aggressively dominate and plunder other nations.

Therefore, the NRC maintains, and note the ideologically-skewed reference to the eternal verities of "the market," the Holy Grail of capitalism in its hyperimperialist phase:

The fear that this approach to fighting war might be developed will be justification for developing countermeasures to possible cognitive weapons. This escalation might lead to innovations that could cause this market area to expand rapidly. Tests would need to be developed to determine if a soldier had been harmed by a cognitive weapon. And there would be a need for a prophylactic of some sort. (NRC, op. cit.)

Who, pray tell, is driving this "escalation" and counting on academia to produce "innovations" in "this market area"? One might also quite reasonably inquire: Who profits?

As Christopher Green, the chairman of the NRC investigative panel championing neuroweapons research avers in a roundtable discussion sponsored by the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists,

Big Pharma is global. Drug discovery research is both ponderous (not as much as arms control, however) and increasingly beyond the control of governments and the public. The development of cognitive enhancers and anti-aging aides during the next two decades (the time needed for drug discovery to become successful) will be...ethically worrisome. But it will be beyond opprobrium. Drugs will be developed and marketed, and not necessarily under the auspices of traditional Western controls and good laboratory practices. ("The potential impact of neuroscience research is greater than previously thought," Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, 9 July 2008) [emphasis added]

While Green claims he is opposed to developing drugs "with safe and efficacious properties for military use," the NRC study, after all, was funded by the Defense Intelligence Agency, hardly a "neutral party" when it comes to "enhanced interrogation techniques" and other horrors of this horrible system!

One must also dissect the linguistic formulations and assumptions deployed by those advocating this line of research. By referring to neuroweapons production as a "market area," those contemplating unleashing devilish pharmacological forms of warfare on unsuspecting populations behave, in you'll pardon the pun, as if they were brainstorming the release of a new video game or suite of luxury condominiums in an American city "ethnically cleansed" of its urban poor!

Green and his acolytes claim that "battlefield commanders of all nations hold sacrosanct the right to determine the applications" of weapon deployments that may cause "collateral damage" to civilian noncombatants. Therefore, Green argues that "if governments or scientists were to try to develop a system to pre-screen neuroscientific cognitive manipulators, which would be HIPAA approved and tested, and robust in its core science, success would be as likely as it was with mines and cluster-bombs--meaning not likely." Translation: full-speed ahead!

While the NRC allege that their approach to monitoring neuroweapons research is "ethical," the committee ponders whether "the concept of torture could also be altered by products in this market. It is possible that someday there could be a technique developed to extract information from a prisoner that does not have any lasting side effects."

Other than the hollowing-out of one's personality and the unique traits that make us human, that is. "Paging Winston Smith, white courtesy telephone!"

While Nazi theories of Aryan superiority may have been displaced by a uniquely American ultranationalist, though no less predatory utilitarian praxis, behind the glittering technological promises trumpeted by today's biotech weaponeers lurk the same murderous mental constructs that guided Indian hunters and slave traders of yore.

Only this time, we're all Manchurian candidates.

Source: Mathaba/Tom Burghardt
http://www.mathaba.net/rss/?x=604035

- STRANGENESS IN THE SKY DEPARTMENT -

Are UFOs Alive?
By Brad Steiger

Fay Clark, the publisher of Hiawatha Books, who died on October 23, 1991, was an early mentor of mine. When I was just beginning to explore seriously the strange, the unusual, and the unknown, it seemed that Fay knew everyone in the psychic, paranormal, and UFO field from coast to coast. He opened many doors for me--and he opened corners of my mind that might have remained shut far longer if not for his guidance and inspiration.

An extra bonus for me, was that Fay was an absolute dead-ringer for the great motion picture actor Claude Rains, even to his manner of speaking. Sometimes I truly felt as though I was receiving instruction from the Invisible Man, Sir John Talbot, or Mr. Jordan.

I want to share this remarkable account of a UFO sighting, circa 1973, from Fay in his own words:

I had been investigating UFOs for twenty-two years, but the sighting that completely changed my view of the phenomenon occurred at Lone Pine, California. My wife and I observed a UFO resting on a small grove of aspen trees. We had been attracted to the area by a terrifically bright light that was so intense we were unable to look directly at it.

Then the light subsided somewhat and we could see the clear outline of the object. All the way around it were openings in its side. The light began to grow until it covered nearly the entire area of the object. As it grew in size, it lost its brilliance and became a lavender color. When the light reached nearly the entire size of the object, the illumination began to shrink down again until it got to the very brilliant white portion again, which, if my judgment were correct, would probably have been about twenty feet in diameter. Then the light would again increase its size to maybe three-quarters or four-fifths of the size of the entire object, and it would be that lavender color.

This process of expansion and contraction of light continued, and my wife and I realized that it was matching the rhythm of our respiration rate.

We became aware that the object was increasing its tempo. We saw one edge of the UFO raise so that it was no longer level with the tops of the trees. In the length of time that it took me to turn my head, the object had moved ten miles out over Death Valley. I know it was ten miles, because we drove out underneath it.

The thing that really amazed my wife and me was that it took off at that tremendous speed instantly--with no sound, no fire, no smoke. And all of the trees leaned with it. They were not blasted backward. We looked the area over carefully and found no more small limbs and leaves on the ground than one would find under any grove of trees.

The word that kept coming to me was that the object was impelled, rather than propelled. It was drawn, rather than pushed. If there would have been any force pushing it, it certainly would have blasted limbs and leaves off the trees.

We drove out in the desert and stayed with the object for probably an hour and a half, directly underneath it. When we first stopped the car, some substance that looked like whipped cream or heavy fog rolled out of the openings in its sides. It was probably not over 300 feet above the ground, but it was completely hidden from view after it produced its own "cloud" of this substance.

We knew it was there, though, so we drove back a distance so that we could c1early see it sitting on top of its artificial cloud.

What we were observing, I believe, was a phenomenon going on inside the object. I believe that the thing was breathing, and I see no reason to change my thought on that matter.

My wife and I both had the feeling that we were witnessing the ultimate in creation. The closer we came to the object, the more we were suffused with a feeling of reverence and beauty and humbleness.

I'll tell about another object we witnessed, and I will illustrate why I know there were no occupants inside it. This sighting occurred outside of Seligman, Arizona. We watched the object coming, then observed it change its course to come to hover not more than fifteen feet above our Volkswagen. It seemed to me that it was just looking at us, as if it were studying our little car.

I jumped out with my Hasselblad camera and swung it up to take a picture. But before I could even touch the shutter, the UFO zipped right toward a little butte.

I had a terrible, sick feeling that anything so beautiful was going to crash and be destroyed. Instead of crashing, though, just before it touched the butte it shot straight up. It didn't stop; it just changed direction--a right angle, straight up--and disappeared.

No crew could have been in any craft and survived such a maneuver.

They would have been mashed against the sides of the vehicle, then pulled apart by the acceleration straight up.

I do not believe that we observed a craft made by beings from some other planet. I believe that we were watching a living creature, a form of life that moves into our dimension.

Different people throughout the years have said to me, "Fay, you know a lot more than you are telling. Come on now, tell us the truth. Admit that you made contact with the aliens inside the object. At least tell us they contacted you."

But Brad, we were not contacted; and there were no occupants inside the object. We only had the most wonderful feeling of peace and harmony, and the knowledge that we were witnessing the beauty of the ultimate of creation.

I firmly believe that UFOs are a form of life that come not from another planet but from another dimension. I believe that they are probably all around us all the time--just outside of our own dimension.

When I discussed the matter of living UFOs with another old friend, Trevor James Constable, he said that biological life in the upper octave of terrestrial existence has been overlooked by too many UFO investigators who early on were in favor of the foregone conclusion that UFOs were vehicles from outer space.

T.J. handed me a stack of photos of UFOs that he had taken with a Leica G IR 135 infrared film at f-3.5, 1/30.

"These are plainly biological forms," he said. "These are plasmic living organisms native to our atmosphere. As they appear in these photographs, they give one the impression of looking through the side of an aquarium."

Constable continued: "The daily etheric breathings of the Earth produce a barometric pressure wave twice daily, which formal science has never been able to explain.

There is enough energy in these barometric waves to run the world's machines--if we can but find the transducer. The torque drive of the Earth itself is an inexhaustible, life-positive energy source of staggering magnitude. That's what civilization depends on--making material substance spin. We see the discs in our skies manifesting these spinning motions over and over again, pressed down upon us in such profusion that one wonders how there can be any vestige of skepticism remaining. Wilhelm Reich has already shown that motors can be run directly from the cosmic life energy, or orgone, as he discovered and refined that energy.

"The characteristic of this coming epoch--heralded by UFOs--is that free primary energy will run the world. No one can put etheric force into a wire and sell it. No sheik can say that tomorrow etheric force is going to cost four times what it does today. No one can confine it within storage tanks and demand money for it. Everyone is going to have energy to do the world's work without pollution and without financial price.

"Before long, someone will uncover that all-important step (discovered by Wilhelm Reich but not disclosed by him) by which etheric force can be transduced into existing electric motors or simple adaptations of them. Orgone and magnetism are cheek by jowl. The UFO evidence screams this at the world. The era of free primary energy is imminent, and its imminence is reinforced by the absolute necessity for its appearance. The UFO shows the feasibility and potential of etheric force in technological use. With etheric force comes not just a new technical epoch, but a cultural and educational change forced by the need to understand etheric energies as we now understand other energy forms.

"The price for this new technical epoch is a forced overhaul of our whole mode of existence. We will see the beginning of a reunion between science and religion as the cosmic energies--pervaded with life and themselves the milieu of living beings--come into technical utility. Man will find the central parts of his own physical existence inseparably bound up with etheric energies, and he will be opened to a widened understanding of himself and the cosmos that produced him. The ultimate consequence will be a new humanity."

Source: UFO Digest
http://www.ufodigest.com/news/0808/areufosalive.html

- I KNOW WHAT I SAW DEPARTMENT -

‘We Believe We Saw Bigfoot’

Despite the bad press received recently by the "Bigfoot Body" hoax, people all over the planet are still reporting encounters with this mysterious creature.  Two couples are convinced they saw a black sasquatch while travelling through Skiff Lake, Canada.

“I know exactly what I saw,” said Dale Tompkins.

The resident of Anfield in Victoria County was referring to a remarkable incident in York County last weekend which he describes as “quite chilling ... for a few minutes afterwards, especially.”

It was shortly after 7 p.m Sunday evening, Aug. 17 and Tompkins and his wife Valerie were travelling in the Skiff Lake area, heading home from a visit with friends at Second Eel River Lake. That’s when they spotted it – the creature they both firmly believe to be Bigfoot.

“When we got home we went on the Internet and found pictures exactly like what we saw,” Dale told the Bugle-Observer the following day. “There were pictures of brown ones and black ones.

What we saw was a black sasquatch.”

“We were a half to three-quarters of a mile from the Skiff Lake sign in a densely wooded area when we came around a turn and saw a huge figure on the edge of the road. It looked down towards us then it walked across the road ahead of us just about 250 meters away.”

Tompkins said that at first he and Valerie thought it was a bear standing on its hind legs. But as they came closer they realized they were seeing more than just a bear.

“We own hunting and fishing camps and in the last 22 years we have brought in and weighed over 150 bears and I have seen 15 or 16 live ones, five this spring, so I know a bear when I see one.

I know a bear can stand on its hind legs and move around, but a bear can’t walk on two legs the way this human-like form did. It crossed the road in three or four long steps, swinging its long arms like a human!” (Tompkins estimated the chipsealed road to measure 35 feet across.) At the time of the sighting, the couple noticed a vehicle following closely behind them. With hopes that thedriverhad seenwhat they described as a “pitch-black, sleek, hairy, approximately 8-and-a-half foot sasquatch,” they stopped him and his passenger along the road in Canterbury.

“We asked them if they saw what we saw and they said they did,” explained Valerie. “They told us they were on their way home to Saint John from their local area cottage. They were as excited as we were.”

The Bugle-Observer contacted the Saint John couple who confirmed the road-side conversation with Dale and Valerie Tompkins, who they met for the first time that evening.

Although they requested anonymity the woman said, “I know what we saw and I don’t care if people believe us or not. There are four of us who witnessed the same thing so why would we just make something like that up?” Although they stand behind the claims, her husband acknowledged most people will not believe them.

“We don’t want to be involved in what we feel people will only think of as a hoax.”

Valerie Tompkins considered someone may be playing a hoax on them and the couple from Saint John.

“If it was just someone dressed up, they sure did a good job,” she said.

Then she added in a firm tone.

“We believe we saw Bigfoot”.

Source: The Bugle Observer
http://bugleobserver.canadaeast.com/front/article/393032

- FEED ME DEPARTMENT -

Hungry Ghost Month

BEIXIAOYING TOWN, China - Three Chinese were critically injured Wednesday in an accident involving a bus from the athletes' village and a van on the way to the Olympic rowing park, the Australian Olympic Committee said. The accident happened near the Shunyi Olympic Rowing-Canoeing Park. Could it be the curse of Hungry Ghosts?

According to tradition, the Hungry Ghost Month - which began August 1 in the western calendar - sees the gates of the underworld open, allowing real Spooks, specters and real ghosts to enter the world of mortals. At the end of the month, tradition holds the ghosts return to the underworld and the gates are slammed shut. One old tradition still observed in New Orleans today was to search for Secret Voodoo Cemetery Gates Of Guinee, They are said to be found more frequently in the month of August then any other.

For all of us in the know the seventh-lunar-month Hungry Ghost Festival is a real time to hunt and communicate with the dead openly. An array of foods being offered to the deceased this is done mostly in this calendar month. Except in New Orleans when it is also practiced on November 1st and 2nd.

If you want to take as many photos of ghosts this is the month to do it. Many paranormal People around the world claim the month of August as the most haunted Dangerous month of the year. More people die in August then any other or so it is believed. Why You might ask? Because it is Hungry ghost Month and if you break the rules and many Taboo's you are truly doomed!

ina Lanier Paranormal Investigator from Harvey, Louisiana states. " Ghost like people seem to get very active in the months of June - December." " But in my observations I think August is the best time to experience seeing and getting evidence that ghost are real." " I suggest if your a ghost hunter of any ilk try ghost hunting on Ghost Tours or even your own home in August."

Also on a perstenage Lanier believes that more Seances go on because more kids or off of school and bored and their minds turn to ghosts and paranormal conjuring up of the dead."

Real Hungry Ghost Month Taboos!

The Ghost Festival is a traditional Chinese festival and holiday, which is celebrated by Chinese in many countries. In the Chinese calendar (a lunisolar calendar), the Ghost Festival is on the 15th night of the seventh lunar month.

In Chinese tradition, the thirteenth day of the seventh month in the lunar calendar is called Ghost Day and the seventh month in general is regarded as the Ghost Month , in which ghosts and spirits, including those of the deceased ancestors, come out from the lower realm. During the Qingming Festival the living descendants pay homage to their ancestors and on Ghost Day, the deceased visit the living.

On the thirteenth day the three realms of Heaven, Hell and the realm of the living are open and both Taoists and Buddhists would perform rituals to transmute and absolve the sufferings of the deceased. Intrinsic to the Ghost Month is ancestor worship, where traditionally the filial piety of descendants extends to their ancestors even after their deaths. Activities during the month would include preparing ritualistic food offerings, burning incense, and burning joss paper, a papier-mache form of material items such as clothes, gold and other fine goods for the visiting spirits of the ancestors. Elaborate meals would be served with empty seats for each of the deceased in the family treating the deceased as if they are still living. Ancestor worship is what distinguishes Qingming Festival from Ghost Festival because the former includes paying respects to all deceased, including the same and younger generations, while the latter only includes older generations. Other festivities may include, burying and releasing miniature paper boats and lanterns on water, which signifies giving directions to the lost ghosts and spirits of the ancestors and other deities.

The Ghost Festival shares some similarities with the predominantly Mexican observance of El Día de los Muertos. Due to theme of ghosts and spirits, the festival is sometimes also known as the Chinese Halloween, though many have debated the difference between the two.

Most interested in the beliefs and taboos that many awful bad things may and can happen to people who give birth, renovate their homes, take trips, go swimming, buy real estate or get a haircut during the most cursed month of the year.

Never look into a mirror this month of the year during the hours of 8:Pm to 8:am. Do not where borrowed clothes, or those items that belonged to the deceased in any way. They say they will come and claim you. Avoid looking into water that the moon reflects upon. if you see the moons reflection your first born child will be struck down.

To Buddhists, the seventh lunar month is a month of joy. This is because the fifteenth day of the seventh month is often known as the Buddha's joyful day and the day of rejoice for monks. The origins of the Buddha's joyful day can be found in various scriptures. When the Buddha was alive, his disciples meditated in the forests of India during the rainy season of summer. Three months later, on the fifteen day of the seventh month, they would emerge from the forests to celebrate the completion of their meditation and report their progress to the Buddha. In the Ullambana Sutra, the Buddha instructs his disciple Maudgalyayana on how to obtain liberation for his mother, who had been reborn into a lower realm, by making food offerings to the sangha on the fifteenth day of the seventh month. Because the number of monks who attained enlightenment during that period was high, the Buddha was very pleased.

The Buddhist origins of the festival can be traced back to a story that originally came from India, but later took on culturally Chinese overtones. In the Ullambana Sutra, there is a descriptive account of a Buddhist monk named Mahamaudgalyayana, originally a brahmin youth who later ordained, and later becoming one of the Buddha's chief disciples. Mahamaudgalyayana was also known for having clairvoyant powers, an uncommon trait amongst monks.

After he attained arhatship, he began to think deeply of his parents, and wondered what happened to them. He used his clairvoyance to see where they were reborn and found his father in the heavenly realms i.e the realm of the gods. However, his mother had been reborn in a lower realm, known as the Realm of Hungry Ghosts. His mother took on the form of a hungry ghost--- so called because it could not eat due to its highly thin & fragile throat in which no food could pass through, yet it was always hungry because it had a fat belly. His mother had been greedy with the money he left her. He had instructed her to kindly host any Buddhist monks that ever came her way, but instead she withheld her kindness and her money. It was for this reason she was reborn in the realm of hungry ghosts.

Mahamaudgalyayana eased his mother's suffering by receiving the instructions of feeding pretas from the Buddha. The Buddha instructed Mahamaudgalyayana to place pieces of food on a clean plate, reciting a mantra seven times, snap his fingers then tip the food on clean ground. By doing so, the preta's hunger was relieved and through these merits, his mother was reborn as a dog under the care of a noble family.

Mahamaudgalyayana also sought the Buddha's advice to help his mother gain a human birth. The Buddha established a day after the traditional summer retreat (the 15th day of the seventh month in the lunar calendar, usually mid-to-late August) on which Mahamaudgalyayana was to offer food and robes to 500 bhikkhus. Through the merits created, Mahamaudgalyayana's mother finally gained a human birth.

Due to Confucian influence, the offering became directed towards ancestors rather than the Sangha and ancestor worship has replaced the simple ritual of relieving the hunger of pretas. However, most Buddhist temples still continue the ancient practice of donating to the Sangha as well as to perform rituals for the hungry ghosts.

Chinese Buddhists often say that there is a difference between Ullambana and the traditional Chinese Zhongyuan Jie, usually saying people have mixed superstitions (such as burning joss paper items) and delusional thoughts, rather than think that Ullambana is actually a time of happiness.

O-bon, or simply Bon, is the Japanese version of the Ghost Festival. It has since been transformed over time into a family reunion holiday during which people from the big cities return to their home towns and visit and clean their ancestors' graves.

Traditionally including a dance festival, it has existed in Japan for more than 500 years. It is held from 13th of July to the 16th ("Welcoming Obon" and "Farewell Obon" respectively) in the eastern part of Japan (Kanto), and in August in the western part (Kansai).

This festival is the chance for pardoning guilty ghosts which are homeless and not be taken care of. People worship ghosts and liberate animals, such as birds or fish.

Influenced by Buddhism, this holiday is also the Vu Lan festival, the Vietnamese transliteration for Ullambana. The festival is also considered Mother's Day. People with living mothers would be thankful, while people with dead mothers would pray for their souls. Though also the city of New Orleans with it's population of Vietnamese has also incorporated this into it's Hoodoo Voodoo Traditions.

Ghost Festival in Malaysia is modernized by the 'concert-like' live performing, it has its own characteristic and is not similar to other Ghost Festivals in other countries. The live show is popularly known as 'Koh-tai' by the Hokkien-speaking peoples, it was performed by a group of singers, dancers and entertainers, on a temporary stage that setup within the residential district. The festival is funded by the residents of each individual residential districts. All this is performed in front of several empty red seats reserved just for the dead. And do not sit in the chair for you will be cursed for life and haunted.

Hungry Ghost Month Practices And World Taboo's

In New Orleans: Always set up a special table in your house to seat the dead. Feed them specially prepared dishes of Red Beans and Rice each Monday of the month. The Recipe for Ghost Month Red Beans and rice differs from the norm.

The quintessential New Orleans dish for the dead:

Ingredients
4 1/3 cups water, divided
1 1/2 cups brown basmati rice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup diced onion
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 15-ounce cans red kidney beans or pink beans, rinsed
6 ounces sliced Canadian bacon, chopped
1/2 cup chopped celery plus 1 tablespoon finely chopped celery leaves
1/2 cup diced green bell pepper
1/4-1 teaspoon ground chipotle pepper (see Note) or cayenne pepper
1 cup of read wine

A real Catholic blessed rosary cross or crucifix:

Cooking Instructions,
1. Combine Cross, and 3 1/3 cups water, rice and salt in a large saucepan. Bring to a simmer; reduce heat to low, cover and cook until all the water has been absorbed, about 45 minutes.

2. About 10 minutes before the rice is ready, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until the onion is lightly colored and tender, about 3 minutes.

3. Place 1 cup beans in a small bowl and mash with a fork. Add the mashed and whole beans, the remaining 1 cup water, Canadian bacon, celery, celery leaves, bell pepper and ground chipotle (or cayenne) to the pan. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the liquid has thickened into a gravy and the vegetables are crisp-tender, about 6 minutes. Serve in shallow bowls, spooned over the rice.

Note: Chipotle peppers are dried, smoked jalapeno peppers. They are often used to add heat and a smoky flavor to foods. Ground chipotle can be found in the specialty spice section of most supermarkets.

This is not recommended to be eaten by the living. This is only for the dead. They say if you eat it you too will leave for the other world when the ghost leave at the end of the month. This should then be brought in a new pot to the cemetery on September first and left at your families graves.

Other Hungry Ghost Month Taboos From around the World:

Never wash your clothes at night or your grand children will suffer there whole life's long.

Do not allow small pets into your bedroom at night to do so will make the ghosts that come to visit annoyed with you. (Some Pets warn of ghosts in homes) They the ghosts will often strike you with serious illness that will last one year to the day.

Do not under any circumstances comb or brush your hair with anything but your hands and fingers. To do this spells real trouble. The hungry ghosts are said to make men impotent and women sterile for 5 years if you do not follow this dire warning.

Only take a full bath on Wednesday of each week. Wipe your body down with a damp cold rag each night steeped in green tea and rose petals. If you do not heed this you will suffer from great headaches and loss of being able to speak for one year or more.

Do not bare your shoulder or bare arm except on Tuesdays of the month.

Do not get any tattoo's or piercing this month they will never heal and you may die from it.

Only wash your hair with clear water and vinegar the entire month. to not do this spells loss of control of your bowels for the rest of your life.

Do not wear perfume or deodorant.

Do not cry this month. Hold back your many tears. If a ghost see's you cry then it will take your soul or possess you. If a child cries though their s no effect if they are under the age of 10.

If anyone dies this month have them immediately cremated and do not morn them until December. Pretend it never happened or their soul will go to hell forever for your misdeed.

Do not put trash out of your house to be picked up the entire month . One should wait until the month is over to throw something out of your house. This spells disaster that your children will not find happy marriage or wealth.

If a young girl does not pray each night from 7:PM until 10:pm she will surly never conceive a child of her own.

Young Boys and all men up to the age of 50 should not masturbate the entire month. To do so means the hungry Ghost will curse you to never father a son.

Source: Haunted America Tours
http://www.hauntedamericatours.com/ghosthunting/GhostMonthTaboos.php
- DANCE TILL YOU DROP DEPARTMENT -

'Dancing Plague' and Other Odd Afflictions Explained


In July of 1518, a woman referred to as Frau Troffea stepped into a narrow street in Strasbourg, France and began a fervent dancing vigil that lasted between four and six days. By the end of the week, 34 others had joined her and, within a month, the crowd of dancing, hopping and leaping individuals had swelled to 400.

Authorities prescribed "more dancing" to cure the tormented movers but, by summer's end, dozens in the Alsatian city had died of heart attacks, strokes and sheer exhaustion due to nonstop dancing.

For centuries this bizarre event, known variously as the dancing plague or epidemic of 1518, has stumped scientists attempting to find a cause for the mindless, intense and ultimately deadly dance. Historian John Waller, author of the forthcoming book, "A Time to Dance, A Time to Die: The Extraordinary Story of the Dancing Plague of 1518," studied the illness at length and has solved the mystery.

"That the event took place is undisputed," said Waller, a Michigan State University professor who has also authored a paper on the topic, which has been accepted for publication in the journal Endeavour.

Waller explained that historical records documenting the dancing deaths, such as physician notes, cathedral sermons, local and regional chronicles, and even notes issued by the Strasbourg city council during the height of the boogying rage, all "are unambiguous on the fact that (victims) danced."

"These people were not just trembling, shaking or convulsing; although they were entranced, their arms and legs were moving as if they were purposefully dancing," he said.

Eugene Backman, author of the 1952 book "Religious Dances in the Christian Church and in Popular Medicine," sought a biological or chemical origin for the dancing mania. Backman and other experts at the time believed the most likely explanation was ergot, a mold that grows on the stalks of damp rye. When consumed unknowingly in bread, the mold can trigger violent convulsion and delusions but not, Waller says, "coordinated movements that last for days."

While at Australia's James Cook University, sociologist Robert Bartholomew proposed a theory that the dancers were performing an ecstatic ritual of a heretical sect, but Waller counters, "there is no evidence that the dancers wanted to dance."

"On the contrary," he added, "they expressed fear and desperation," according to the written accounts.

A series of famines, resulting from bitter cold winters, scorching summers, sudden crop frosts and terrifying hailstorms, preceded the maniacal dancing, Waller said. Waves of deaths followed from malnutrition. People who survived were often forced to slaughter all of their farm animals, secure loans and finally, take to the streets begging.

Smallpox, syphilis, leprosy and even a new disease known as "the English sweat" swept through the area.

"Anxiety and false fears gripped the region," Waller said.

One of these fears, originating from a Christian church legend, was that if anyone provoked the wrath of Saint Vitus, a Sicilian martyred in 303 A.D., he would send down plagues of compulsive dancing.

Waller therefore believes a phenomenon known as "mass psychogenic illness," a form of mass hysteria usually preceded by intolerable levels of psychological distress, caused the dancing epidemic.

Ivan Crozier, a lecturer in the Science Studies Unit at the University of Edinburgh, says that he "agrees completely" with Waller's conclusion.

"His cultural explanation, combined with a contextualized view of the conditions in which people lived at the time on the Rhine and Mosel, is very convincing and is superior to the arguments about ergot, which is a compound like LSD," Crozier said.

"Ergot gave people visions, not energy to dance," he added.

Crozier is a world authority on yet another mass hysteria epidemic: koro.

Since at least 300 B.C., plagues of koro -- an irrational male fear that one's genitals have been stolen or are fatally shrinking into the body -- have swept through various parts of the world, particularly throughout Africa and Asia. Most recently, a 1967 outbreak, documented in the Singapore Medical Journal, caused over 1,000 men to use pegs and clamps in hopes of protecting themselves from the gripping fear.

"In both cases we see cultural issues impacting on collective behavior," Crozier said, explaining that preexisting superstitions, fears and beliefs surrounding both koro and the dancing epidemic led to group beliefs turning into "collective action."

Waller explained that victims often go into an involuntary trance state, fueled by psychological stress and the expectation of succumbing to an altered state.

"Thus, in groups subject to severe social and economic hardship, trance can be highly contagious," he said.

At least seven other outbreaks of the dancing epidemic occurred in medieval Europe, mostly in the areas surrounding Strasbourg. In more recent history, a major outbreak occurred in Madagascar in the 1840's, according to medical reports that described "people dancing wildly, in a state of trance, convinced that they were possessed by spirits."

Perhaps the most unusual documented case of mass psychogenic illness was the Tanganyika Laughter Epidemic of 1962. A paper published the following year in the Central African Journal of Medicine described what happened.

Triggered by a joke among students at a Tanzania boarding school, young girls began to laugh uncontrollably. At first there were spurts of laughter, which extended to hours and then days.

The victims, virtually all female, suffered pain, fainting, respiratory problems, rashes and crying attacks, all related to the hysterical laughter. Proving the old adage that laughter can be contagious, the epidemic spread to the parents of the students as well as to other schools and surrounding villages.

Eighteen months passed before the laughter epidemic ended.

According to medical epidemiologist Timothy Jones, an assistant clinical professor of preventative medicine at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, who also reported an incident of hysteria in Belgium following soft-drink consumption, "Outbreaks of psychogenic illness are likely to be more common than is currently appreciated, and many go unrecognized."

Jones recommends that physicians treating such problems "attempt to separate persons with illness associated with the outbreak," conduct tests to rule out other causes, monitor and provide oxygen for hyperventilation, attempt to minimize the individual's anxiety, notify public health authorities and seek to assure patients that, while their symptoms "are real…rumors and reports of suspected causes are not equivalent to confirmed results."

Aside from their medical interest, Waller believes such epidemics, particularly those from past centuries, are "of immense historical value."

He said the dancing plague "tells us much about the extraordinary supernaturalism of late medieval people, but it also reveals the extremes to which fear and irrationality can lead us."

He added, "Few events in my view so clearly show the extraordinary potentials of the human mind."

Source: Discovery News
http://dsc.discovery.com/news/2008/08/01/dancing-death-mystery.html

- STAY AWAY FROM MAGNETS DEPARTMENT -

Woman Claims Metal Wire Grows From Her Body

It's a currently big news in Indonesia. Metal wires about 10-20 cm long grow from a woman's body! Skeptics initially thought that is must be "self-inflicted". Doctors however, have other theories but have given up on providing any scientific or medical explanations.

The woman had this problem for 17 years and currently being investigated by the Ministry of Health. Initial consultation with doctors and specialists found that the wires are also inside her body. At this stage, there were no current medical explanations or any case ever exist. Hence, there is but only one other possible consideration… Occult magic.

Her name is NOORSYAIDAH. A 40 years old kindergarten teacher from Sangatta, East Kutai. Her first symptoms started manifestating in 1991. The metal wires grew out of her chest and her belly. There was no explanation then (or even now). During the first week wires kept falling off from her body and were gone. A month later, the wires grew back again and from that time onward the wires did not fall. They kept growing!

One of her sisters said that she tried to help by trimming the wires. Alas, whenever she trimmed the wires, the wire retreated as if it were hiding and then popped up in another part of Noorsyaidah’s body.

There have been 4 Medical Specialists taking this matter seriously and have treated her in several ways. And as the result, doctors can’t figure out what exactly is happening to her. The doctors have taken an X-Ray image from her stomach and found that there are more than 40 metal wires inside her and some of them are bursting out of her skin. They looks like a living phenomenon. The wires are able mobile and therefore can change location at will, Thus the doctors are forced to use a magnet to scan the exact position of the wires. The wires bursted out without any symptoms of Tetanus, but she said that they’re hurting her like when needles sting.

Source: Phantoms and Monsters
http://naturalplane.blogspot.com/2008/08/indonesian-woman-claims-metal-wire-has.html

Sign up today for Bizarre Bazaar and Conspiracy Journal Magazines

Click on banner to sign up for two FREE magazines!


Cosmic Horizons - Tuesdays at 8:00pm Eastern
www.blogtalkradio.com



Visit TheUFOstore.com


UFO Casebook


UFO Magazine


FATE Magazine

Conspiracy Journal - Issue 484 8/29/08
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html