3/2/12  #661
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html
You can view this newsletter online at:
http://uforeview.tripod.com/conspiracyjournal661.html

Welcome one and all to the greatest show on Earth!  Inside the big top we have such mysteries as you've never seen before!  A three-ring extravaganza of conspiracies, UFOs, the paranormal and much, much, MORE!  So sit back and relax and prepared to be amazed, because Conspiracy Journal is here once again for your viewing pleasure. 

This week Conspiracy Journal brings you such death-defying stories as:

- Asteroid Could Pose Threat in 2040 -
“Trilogy Of The Unknown” Michael X Discovers The Darkness -
- Brown Mountain Lights Still a Mystery -
- New Discoveries Around 'Jesus Family Tomb' -
AND: Navajo Task Force investigates the paranormal

All these exciting stories and MORE in this week's issue of
CONSPIRACY JOURNAL!

~ And Now, On With The Show! ~


BRAND NEW BOOK FROM CONSPIRACY JOURNAL

TRILOGY OF THE UNKNOWN

A Conspiracy Reader

EXPOSING THE DARK SIDE OF UFO RESEARCH!


Michael X  (for "security" reasons and to protect his family he never liked to reveal  his last name) was in the early days of the flying saucer movement an avatar of the New Age, professing to have met highly advanced, angelic-like beings from the stars who looked  so remarkably human that they could easily pass as earthlings. Through telepathic contact they taught him about science, philosophy and health, which he passed on to a devoted group of followers throughout the West Coast. His self published monographs on various arcane topics were hard to find but highly sought after. 

Normally, his transcriptions concerned themselves with cosmic wisdom and knowledge as spread throughout the ages to a limited number of truth seekers.

One day his life changed when he received a telepathic message from those thought to be his cosmic "guides." They told him to come to a secluded area in the Mojave desert so they could meet with him and give him  physical evidence of their existence which he could show to others, thus proving his encounters to be true and not fantasies or a hoax.

Instead of the usual cordial greetings from his Space Brother friends he had been "set up", as a rifle was pointed at his head and only an "inner voice" saved him from what could only have been a tragic  death.

From that day forth, Michael X. spoke little about his ET contacts, fearing reprisals from  those who had disguised  themselves as benevolent aliens,   but who most probably  were representatives  of the Dark Forces, the Men in Black,  the International Bankers, or  some sinister  Big Business cartel.

We really don't know why Michael X was silenced, but we have put together a Trilogy of Terror which presents some of his more controversial conspiracy works involving the seamier, negative aspects of UFOlogy, from Nazi flying saucers, to reptilians living on and inside the earth, and a dire warning NOT TO RETURN TO THE MOON.

We do not suggest that readers give up their own involvement in researching the mysteries of the sky, but we do utter a simple warning -- BE CAREFUL WHERE YOU TREAD!

This incredible book is now available at the mind-blowing price of only $16 (plus $5.00 shipping). As well, we will throw in a FREE, bonus DVD, THE WEIRD WORLD OF TIM BECKLEY.  At an address in Tucson in 2011, moderator Charla tries to trip up MR UFO with some over the top questions. Find out the latest from the editor of the Conspiracy Journal print edition as he wheels a mighty sword.

You can also phone in your credit card orders to Global Communications
24-hour hotline: 732-602-3407

And as always you can send a check or money order to:
Global Communications
P.O. Box 753
New Brunswick, NJ  08903


- DUCK AND COVER DEPARTMENT -

Asteroid Could Pose Threat in 2040

Scientists are keeping a close eye on a big asteroid that may pose an impact threat to Earth in a few decades.

The space rock, which is called 2011 AG5, is about 460 feet (140 meters) wide. It may come close enough to Earth in 2040 that some researchers are calling for a discussion about how to deflect it.

Talk about the asteroid was on the agenda during the 49th session of the Scientific and Technical Subcommittee of the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS), held earlier this month in Vienna.

A UN Action Team on near-Earth objects (NEOs) noted the asteroid's repeat approaches to Earth and the possibility -- however remote -- that 2011 AG5 might smack into our planet 28 years from now.

The object was discovered in January 2011 by Mount Lemmon Survey observers in Tucson, Ariz. While scientists have a good bead on the space rock's size, its mass and compositional makeup are unknown at present.

An Asteroid Desktop Exercise

"2011 AG5 is the object which currently has the highest chance of impacting the Earth ... in 2040. However, we have only observed it for about half an orbit, thus the confidence in these calculations is still not very high," said Detlef Koschny of the European Space Agency's Solar System Missions Division in Noordwijk, The Netherlands.

"In our Action Team 14 discussions, we thus concluded that it not necessarily can be called a 'real' threat. To do that, ideally, we should have at least one, if not two, full orbits observed," Koschny told SPACE.com.

Koschny added that the Action Team did recommend to the NEO Working Group of COPUOS to use 2011 AG5 as a "desktop exercise" and link ongoing studies to the asteroid.

"We are currently also in the process of making institutions like the European Southern Observatory aware of this object," Koschny said. "We hope to make the point that this object deserves the allocation of some special telescope time."

Non-Zero Impact Probability

The near-Earth asteroid 2011 AG5 currently has an impact probability of 1 in 625 for Feb. 5, 2040, said Donald Yeomans, head of the Near-Earth Object Observations Program at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif.

This impact probability isn't set in stone, however. So far, researchers have been able to watch the asteroid for just a short time -- the first nine months of 2011 -- and the numbers may change after further observation, Yeomans told SPACE.com.

"Fortunately, this object will be observable from the ground in the 2013-2016 interval," Yeomans said. In the very unlikely scenario that its impact probability does not significantly decrease after processing these additional observations, "there would be time to mount a deflection mission to alter its course before the 2023 keyhole," he added.

Keyholes are small regions in space near Earth through which a passing NEO's orbit may be perturbed due to gravitational effects, possibly placing it onto a path that would impact Earth.

Prudent Course of Action

2011 AG5 may zip through such a keyhole on its close approach to Earth in February 2023, which will bring the asteroid within 0.02 astronomical units (1.86 million miles, or 2.99 million kilometers) of Earth.

One astronomical unit is the average distance between Earth and sun, which is approximately 93 million miles (150 million km).

According to a JPL estimate, the 2023 keyhole -- through which 2011 AG5 must pass in order for there to be a real chance of an Earth impact in 2040 -- is roughly 62 miles (100 km) wide.

"Although this keyhole is considerably larger than the Apophis keyhole in 2029, it would still be a straightforward task to alter the asteroid's trajectory enough to miss the keyhole -- and hence the impact in 2040," Yeomans noted, referring to the asteroid Apophis, which could threaten Earth in 2036 if it zips through a keyhole in 2029.

"The prudent course of action is then to wait at least until the 2013 observations are processed before making any preliminary plans for a potential deflection mission," Yeomans said.

Processing additional observations in the 2013-2016 time period, he added, "will almost certainly see the impact probability for 2011 AG5 significantly decrease."

Wanted: Higher-Fidelity Assessment

"Yes, the object 2011 AG5 was much discussed at the AT 14 meetings last week, but perhaps prematurely," said Lindley Johnson, NASA's NEO Observations Program Executive in Washington, D.C.

Johnson said NEO watchers have flagged the asteroid "as one we should keep an eye on." At present, he said, while researchers have better preliminary orbit data for 2011 AG5 than for many other asteroids in the NEO catalog, "we have only medium confidence in the derived orbital parameters."

"Fortunately, we are confident our uncertainties in the current orbit model will be reduced when we will have good observation opportunities in September 2013 with the larger follow-up assets," Johnson told SPACE.com. Observing opportunities are even better, he added, starting in November 2015 and for several months thereafter.

"This, in turn, will enable us to better assess the likelihood of any 'keyhole' passage in 2023 and therefore a much higher fidelity assessment of any impact probability for the 2040 time frame," Johnson said.

"So, rather than a need to immediately jump to space mission solutions, the situation with 2011 AG5 shows the value of finding potentially hazardous objects early enough so that there is time for a methodical approach of observation and assessment as input to any need for an expensive spacecraft mission," Johnson said. "A more robust survey capability would improve the data available to make such assessments."

Decision Challenge

Long-time NEO specialist and former Apollo astronaut Russell Schweickart played an active role in the dialogue about 2011 AG5. He represented the Association of Space Explorers (ASE) Committee on Near Earth Objects and presented to the Action Team an analysis of the situation with 2011 AG5.

The space rock presents a "decision challenge" to the international community, Schweickart suggested, "in the unlikely chance that its current low, but significant probability of impacting Earth in 2040 continues to increase after additional tracking becomes available."

Schweickart spotlighted a rough Association of Space Explorers analysis of the options to deflect the asteroid in the future, in the unlikely scenario that the Earth impact probability continues to increase.

He also provided to the Action Team several new appraisals of options for deflection of asteroid 2011 AG5 to avoid a potentially dangerous Earth encounter in 2040.

Delayed Deflection Campaign

A decision date for a keyhole deflection is very soon, if not now, Schweickart suggested. Asteroid 2011 AG5 represents an actual threat that underscores the need for a NEO hazard decision-making structure within the UN COPUOS, he said.

Based on the latest analysis, Schweickart reported, a deflection campaign delayed until after the 2023 close approach appears marginally possible, as long as a decision to commit is made immediately thereafter.

In the low-probability case in which the impact threat of the asteroid persists beyond its 2013 apparition, "should a keyhole deflection campaign be foregone -- for whatever reason -- the international community may be faced with the difficult decision of choosing between an expensive multikinetic impactor or a nuclear explosive to prevent an impact should the NEO indeed pass through the keyhole," Schweickart said.

The timelines that would be required to mount a successful deflection of the asteroid, Schweickart told SPACE.com, might be challenging.

But first things first -- researchers stress that more study of the asteroid's trajectory is called for. The next tracking opportunities of 2011 AG5 will occur in September 2013, and then again in November 2015.

In response to a letter from Schweickart regarding 2011 AG5, NASA Administrator Charles Bolden said that 2011 AG5 is "high on NASA's list of NEOs to monitor for impact hazard potential," adding that "we take these duties very seriously."

Bolden also noted the opportunities for highly accurate ground-based observations in the near future.

"Based on these observations, a more informed assessment can then be made on the need for any type of mitigation," he said.

Bolden also remarked that the asteroid makes an apparition in 2015, more than seven years before the close keyhole passage in 2023 that could set in motion an Earth impact in the 2040 time frame.

"As a point of comparison, NASA's Deep Impact mission (the Deep Impact probe smashed into comet Tempel 1 in July 2005) was conducted in six years from selection to impact under much less urgency, demonstrating the adequacy of a seven-year period for any necessary response," Bolden said.

Source: Discovery News
http://news.discovery.com/space/asteroid-impact-hazard-2040-120228.html#mkcpgn=rssnws1

- THE DARK SIDE OF UFOLOGY DEPARTMENT -

“Trilogy Of The Unknown” Michael X Discovers The Darkness
by Sean Casteel

Timothy Green Beckley of Global Communications continues to do the UFO/paranormal communities a great service by reprinting and updating long sought after books by the early pioneers of the various fields of endeavor, especially, but not limited to, UFOlogy. Beckley has recently unearthed a triptych of wondrous works by Michael X that focus on the darker side of the flying saucer phenomenon. Beckley calls the new collection “Trilogy of the Unknown, A Conspiracy Reader.”

In his introduction to the new edition, Beckley writes, “Michael X was one of the greatest avatars of the early UFO/New Age movement of the 1950s. He spoke with great articulation and sincerity at many of the well-attended outdoor conventions held annually at Giant Rock, a private landing strip just outside of Joshua Tree in the hot Mohave Desert of Southern California. He spoke calmly and collectedly about the arrival of the silvery spaceships, dubbed flying saucers, explaining how they were piloted by friendly space beings from this solar system and way beyond.”

Michael X perceived the Space Brotherhood to be on a mission to elevate our consciousness and invite us to join a cosmic “League of Nations,” a federation of spiritually advanced worlds who exist around us and in other dimensions.

“I guess you could call Michael X a guru of sorts,” Beckley continues, “though he didn’t head a religious cult nor was he looking to attract a fanatical following in the manner of other more self-absorbed ‘masters’ of universal wisdom. No! Michael X was an avatar in the truest sense of the word – an advocate for all humanity.”

Michael X even went so far as to refuse to reveal his last name so that he didn’t become part of a cult of personality. He chose the letter “X” as a reference to the mysteries of our world and the space and time we inhabit. As a result of his secretiveness, there is little known about his background beyond the fact that he was a salesman of some kind before he discovered UFOlogy. Beckley once spoke to Michael X, but the pattern of secrecy continued and Beckley learned nothing more than he had known before.

The aliens with whom Michael X communed were said to be from Venus, typical of the time period in which he wrote. His contact with them mainly consisted of telepathic voices and they spoke to him about the secrets of good health and offered a new understanding of science, philosophy and religion that could possibly propel us forward into a New Age of reason and enlightenment. He wrote about what the Venusians had taught him in a series of very concise study guides, perhaps around 25 or so, according to Beckley.

  “But as it turns out,” Beckley writes, “Michael X’s career was not only involved with the sweetness and light aspects of the New Age movement, but he had also stumbled upon the darker side of UFOlogy, which frightened him to the point that he eventually left behind the work he loved so much. This is a little known ‘secret’ about Michael X that I don’t believe has ever been presented before.”

Beckley says that he obtained this information from Dr. Frank E. Stranges, the late author of “Stranger At The Pentagon” and a good friend of Michael X’s. Apparently Michael X had run across some UFO-related secret and was deemed to have “gone too far.”

“During one of his meditations,” Beckley writes, “a ‘voice’ came to Michael X and gave him a specific place and time to meet for a face-to-face encounter with his supposed alien friends. They promised to reveal some information that had not been disclosed before that would be helpful in the dissemination of his work.”

Michael X was sent to a secluded place in the Mohave Desert where he and his contacts could be free of prying eyes. When he arrived, he saw nothing but remained in his car, waiting. After a while, he saw the glint of something in the sunlight and assumed it was the spacecraft arriving. He began to walk toward where he had seen the light when all of a sudden he sensed terrible danger. He heard an inner voice warning him to flee the scene, and when he looked back he saw one of the men he had intended to meet lowering his rifle, which had been the object that had glittered in the sun, not any ship full of Venusian Space Brothers.

Shortly after, Michael X completely withdrew from the UFO/New Age community and has not been heard from to this day. When Beckley spoke to Michael X in this same timeframe, Michael X confirmed the details of the desert escape story though he refused to elaborate further on anything. Beckley now says he doesn’t know whether Michael X is still alive or not, but that Michael surely wouldn’t mind seeing his works republished for a certain kind of truth seeker to learn from.

Which brings us around again to “Trilogy of the Unknown.”

“We present what might be considered to be information on the seamier side of the subjects at hand,” Beckley writes. “Here is information on Nazi UFOs, which Michael X spoke about years before anyone else dared touch on the theory that German scientists had stumbled upon a revolutionary form of propulsion and had constructed disc-shaped devices that they had hoped would help them win the war. There is also a warning from the space people to get our tail off the moon and never return – OR ELSE! And if you think David Icke was the first to write about reptilians roaming the earth, guess again, for Michael X told about the existence of a race of serpents running around inside Rainbow City, located in Antarctica, as part of an inner earth contingent.”

Along with the idea of aliens on the moon jealously guarding their territory and the underground race of terrifying, hostile serpents, a great deal has also been written and talked about regarding the belief that Nazi German scientists may have developed working flying saucer technology close to the end of World War II that was later suppressed by the victorious Allies. But one may never have heard the following story, taken from the middle section of “Trilogy Of The Unknown” by Michael X.

Michael X relates the rise and fall of a German named Karl Michalek, who in 1958, while living in Santiago, Chile, began to write some very unusual articles. He sent his articles to a publication called “Neues Europa,” or in English, “New Europe,” which was published by Louis Emrich. Emrich printed everything Michalek sent him, and within a short time, Michalek had garnered a large following of readers. The small newspaper had at first printed articles of general interest, but as time passed, Michalek’s messages began to dominate the publication. [Michael X is quick to acknowledge the similarity of his own name to Karl Michalek’s, which he feels is an unfortunate coincidence that hopefully won’t confuse people reading this account.]

“The German readers were fascinated,” Michael X writes, “intensely so.”

Just what was stirring up so much excitement? Michalek was calmly announcing in the “New Europe” that he was in positive contact with the governmental heads of the planet Venus. The name of the particular intelligent being from Venus who was acting as Michalek’s present contact was “Ase.”

“Ase and Michalek are desirous,” Michael X writes, “of bringing about everlasting peace and order to our planet Earth. In his series of regularly appearing articles, Karl Michalek presented himself as a sincere, God-fearing man who believes in the almighty power of the Creator. He is against those world groups that are promoting war, which Michalek knows will destroy the planet.”

Michalek also authored a book laying out his beliefs called “Michalek: The Prophet of the New Era. Unearthly Forces and the Human Race.”

He was not only egocentric enough to call himself a “prophet,” he also declared himself to be “the spiritual bearer of this great idealistic world idea” and “the President of the coming majestic government of the World Republic of this Earth.” He sent stern warnings to leaders like Nikita Khrushchev and Dwight Eisenhower not to meddle in his Venusians’ plans for world conquest or Moscow and Washington would be wiped out.

Michalek also told his followers reading the “New Europe” that the ships from Venus would land on “X-Day,” in December of 1958, in Berlin itself, causing great excitement among his loyal throng. Predictably, the day came and went and not a single UFO was seen. Michalek covered his embarrassment by saying that the President of Venus had passed away unexpectedly at the age of 193. Ase, Michalek’s contact among the Venusians, was forced to delay the landing maneuver for a short period of time.

“Two years later, Michalek again predicted ‘Der Tag X.’ This time he stated that it was fixed and irrevocable. The date of the Venus Fleet landing was to be April 21, 1960! Note how X-Day was set for one day after Hitler’s birth month and day, April 20.

“April 21st arrived – uneventfully. Again, for some unknown reason, the Venusian UFO fleet had seen fit to stay away. This time, the failure of the spaceships to ‘arrive’ as Michalek had promised brought forth a storm of protesting letters from readers of the ‘New Europe.’ Because the predicted Venus landing didn’t take place, the curve of Michalek’s success has sunk into the negative realm, and Michalek has sunk with it. INTERPOL in Austria takes a very dim view of his claims and is opposed to him. Even Michalek’s former staunch supporters, including the disillusioned publisher Louis Emrich, have fallen away.”

But there is more. In 1959, Michalek claimed, “For some time now, I have been the one designated to be President of the highest governmental authority of the coming World Republic. I have been so designated by the power of the Chief Leader of the planet Venus.”

Michael X then backtracks to 1945, a mere fifteen years previous to the time in which he was writing. Michael X says that when Hitler was drawing up his last will and testament, he did not name a second Fuhrer to succeed him. He chose Admiral Karl Doenitz as the next President of the Reich, Joseph Goebbels as Reich Chancellor, and Martin Bormann as the Party Minister.

From there, Michael X reasons that Hitler had secretly survived his supposed suicide in Berlin in 1945 and was in fact living in South America. This was easier to believe in 1960, when Hitler would have been in his early 70s. In any case, it was a surviving Hitler who was the true authority that Michalek served, not the disappointing Venusians.

“It is possible,” Michael X writes, “that Karl Michalek is in actuality the illegitimate son of Adolph Hitler. Mind you, I say it is ‘possible.’ I do not claim it is the gospel truth or a proven certainty. No. It’s a simple hypothesis and nothing more. So far, Michalek has not ‘delivered the goods’ in regard to his predictions of UFO landings, and his own broken promises have dubbed him a charlatan, a hoaxer on the grand scale. Those who formerly believed in him now DO NOT.”

The point is that Michalek, as a Nazi conspirator and a member of a surviving Hitler’s inner circle, did have knowledge of genuine UFOs, but of Nazi design as opposed to true extraterrestrial spacecraft.

“The Michalek story may be part of the Nazis’ plans, a preliminary test phase that for some reason, perhaps a good reason, had to be discontinued. If our hypothesis is right, Hitler has the UFO secret. And if we could manage to look in on his Argentine Hideout, we’d no doubt see quite an armada of earth-built UFOs. Not only that. It is also likely we’d find the craft well-armed.”

As an interesting side note, just as this article/review was being written, a news story appeared on the Yahoo! website with the headline “Did Hitler Have A Secret Son?” According to the article, until his death in 1985, a man named Jean-Marie Loret believed he was the only son of Adolph Hitler. The article says there is currently a renewed attention to his claim because of evidence from France and Germany that adds credibility to Loret’s story.

“Loret claimed that his mother, Lobojoie Charlotte, met Hitler in 1914, when he was a corporal in the German army and she was 16. She described Hitler as ‘attentive and friendly.’ She and Hitler would take walks in the countryside, although conversation often was complicated by their language barrier. Yet, despite their differences, after an inebriated night in June 1917, little Jean-Marie was born in March 1918, according to Loret.”

In evidence, Loret offered the results of two studies, one that proved his blood type is similar and another that proved his handwriting is similar to Hitler’s. The evidence is inconclusive but Loret’s story continues to be investigated by a leading French newspaper called “Le Pointe.” Meanwhile, the official story is still that Hitler died childless in 1945 at age 56.   

So the work of Michael X manages to resonate even in the present time some 50-plus years later, and NOT ONLY in regard to the concept that at least some aspects of  the UFO phenomenon might have had their roots in a Nazi space program developed at the end of World War II. Remarkably, Michael X, as we have seen, is the author/researcher who actually laid the groundwork for a theory that has become increasing popular. In this book published by Beckley, there is much more to inhale and mull over. There is also Michael X’s brave discussion of reptilian humanoids that may co-exist along with homo sapiens on planet Earth without our knowledge, and a bizarre group of serpent-like creatures living within the earth, in both caverns beneath our feet and possibly inside a grand paradise to be found at the North and South Poles. Then there is the very relevant warning given our astronauts and leaders that we should NEVER   return to the Moon. And, amazingly enough, we might have heeded their demands since decades have passed and we have not ventured back to the lunar surface. 

Perhaps when you can achieve that kind of universal meaning along with what might prove to be a nearly prescient eye into the future, you have truly been in contact with some kind of genuine alien presence – whether you claim they came from Venus, which today might be called laughable, or from some dimension where spirit and alien forms commingle and occasionally reach out to one of our fellow mortals for the sake of all of us.

[To read more by Sean Casteel, visit his “UFO Journalist” website at www.seancasteel.com]

Source: UFO Digest
http://www.ufodigest.com/article/%E2%80%9Ctrilogy-unknown%E2%80%9D-michael-x-discovers-darkness

- MYSTERIOUS LIGHTS AND FIRES DEPARTMENT -

Brown Mountain Lights Still a Mystery

RALEIGH, N.C. — Two orange orbs, just about 10 feet off the ground, floated past Steve Woody and his father as they hunted deer more than 50 years ago. The mysterious lights passed them, then dropped down the side of a gorge in the Blue Ridge foothills.

For at least a century, the Brown Mountain Lights have confounded residents and tourists in a rugged patch of Burke County, bobbing and weaving near a modest peak. Are they reflections from automobile headlights? Brush fires? A paranormal phenomenon, or something natural not yet explained by science?

"I didn't feel anything spooky or look around for Martians or anything like that," Woody said. "It was just a unique situation. It's just as vivid now as when I was 12 years old."

Whatever the explanation, tourism officials are hoping all those decades of unanswered questions add up to a boost in visitors making their way to scenic outlooks around Linville Gorge with the goal of spotting something mysterious.

Unexplained mysteries like the Brown Mountain Lights have been the subject of cable TV documentaries and have fueled vast online communities of amateur investigators. Ed Phillips, Burke County's tourism director, is hoping to capitalize on that.

Earlier this month, a sellout crowd of 120 paid $20 a head to attend a symposium on the lights at Morganton City Hall, and there was a crowd outside the door hoping to get in at the last minute.

"It's a good problem to have," Phillips said. "I could have sold 500 tickets."

Interest in the lights has waxed and waned since the first known printed reference to the phenomenon appeared in The Charlotte Observer in 1913. John Harden, a Raleigh-based radio personality, devoted an episode of his 1940s series "Tales of Tar Heelia" to the lights, saying they "not only have attracted the attention of the people of this state, but have aroused the curiosity of a nation as well." There was also a folk song, recorded by The Kingston Trio and others, that posited the lights came from a slave wandering the hills with a lantern in search of his master.

The profile of the lights has dimmed in recent years, although the number of reports doesn't appear to be falling off. Making the area a destination for fans of the unexplained and anomalous helps give Burke County an edge, Phillips said.

"When you look at everything, you look at what people are really interested in, and the Brown Mountain Lights was something I really wanted to bring back to people's attention," he said.

There are plans for another symposium and a contest with a cash prize for the best photo or video of the lights. There are even T-shirts and refrigerator magnets for sale in the area now.

Also in the works is a regular event tentatively called the Brown Mountain Paranormal Expedition, where people will pay to hear a presentation on the lights at a dinner, then travel by bus to overlook sites where the lights have been reported. The events will be guided by Joshua P. Warren, an Asheville native and paranormal investigator who plans to allow attendees to use equipment like night vision goggles in hopes of spotting the lights.

"The folks who attend will have a true firsthand experience of what it's like to be out there trying to judge what's happening with this mountain," Brown said.

The Brown Mountain Lights have drawn serious scientific interest since the 1920s, when the U.S. Geological Survey issued a report concluding the lights were reflections from automobiles, trains and brush fires.

Daniel Caton, a professor in the physics and astronomy department at Appalachian State University, thinks that's part of the explanation for what people have reported seeing over the years. But Caton thinks there's more to the lights, at least in some cases.

Caton said that about seven years ago, he was ready to give up studying the lights when he began hearing from people who said they saw them from mere feet away, not miles across the Linville Gorge. Those accounts sounded to Caton a lot like firsthand reports of ball lightning, a little-understood but naturally occurring phenomenon involving luminous spheres often said to move or bounce about in the air.

Caton hopes to eventually set up cameras at viewing sites that will feed to his website, allowing anyone to watch for the lights at any time. While he's skeptical, guessing that 95 percent of reports of the lights are something like airplane lights, Caton still thinks there are eyewitness reports worth checking.

"The cool thing is, if ball lightning is preferentially made by nature in the Linville Gorge, at least we have a place to look for the conditions that might create it," he said. "Otherwise, it's hopeless to try and study ball lightning because it's just randomly made and you don't know where to look for it."

Source: Huffington Post
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/26/brown-mountain-lights-nc_n_1302204.html?ref=weird-news

- DAYS OF FUTURE PAST DEPARTMENT -

UFO Occupants: From Time Not Space?
by Diane Tessman

There are strong arguments for UFO occupants being aliens of time, not space. The only real argument against this is that there is no such thing as time travel. Of course it is also argued that the distances are too great in space to permit travel from “there” to “here,” so that, too, is said by some to be impossible. However, these unidentified flying objects with unidentified pilots inside, have to come from somewhere or some-when. If they are time-aliens instead of space-aliens, a number of other questions are answered.

The fascinating reality seems to be that as we of 2012 discover more secrets of space/time and the quantum universe, each new discovery makes time travel as likely as space travel. After all, it is “space/time,” not just “space.” Time has always been mixed up in the cosmic puzzle. The current theories include the concept of a “super-highway” which exists thanks to a rupture in space/time that happened as the Big Bang expanded; due to this “string,” which exists outside the fabric, starships or time-ships might be able to travel from one point to another, extremely fast. This point might be a point of space or a point in time.

http://www.ufodigest.com/article/super-highway-stars-alien-traffic

There are other theories too, one of which explains that aliens from far distant planets might be able to take a “wormhole” through space but wormholes, too, involve time warps as much as space warps. Black holes are the original jokesters who flaunt the fact that time is not what we thought it was; the event horizon of a black hole stops time entirely for the outside observer watching an object get sucked into the black hole; to the outside observer, that object remains virtually forever on the event horizon, never being sucked into the hole. Meanwhile, the object has been consumed by the black hole from which no light, no time, no gravity, no-nothing, ever escapes. Let’s face it, “time” is just not the solid march of moments which we thought it was!

All in all, the imagined obstacle of time being not traversable is no more valid than the obstacle of space being not traversable. It is just as likely that UFO occupants are time-aliens as space-aliens. Simply put, they well may be humans from the future - or the past – because, after all, if you can travel time, is there such a thing as time at all?

I hasten to add that I believe that there are aliens (extraterrestrials), from space as well in our skies, who somehow travel the far distances involved; perhaps these space-aliens have a working alliance with the human time-aliens. ETs tend to dominate UFO theories but I feel we should focus more on the time-aliens. What UFO questions are answered if UFO occupants are from our human (Earth) family tree?

UFO Question One: Why do the aliens hang around Earth year after year? They should have conquered us or helped us or departed by now to explore other worlds.

Answer: If they are time-traveling humans, they have a vested interest in Earth’s welfare. Earth’s environment steadily degraded as humans developed industry and began their population explosion on the surface of the planet.

In 1945, the United States used nuclear bombs against Japan, a first in human history; sure enough, UFOs began to appear in abundance in Earth skies. The development and use of nuclear energy is certain to be a milestone as we look back on our history as a race. For the first time, humans have the ability to destroy life on Planet Earth and show a willingness to be stupid enough to do so.

The Year 2000 ushered in the beginning of the Singularity, which culminates somewhere in the future when humans and computers become one force, one entity-- thanks to computer chips in human heads or other similar methods. Already, life stops if the computer goes down at Walmart; no one is allowed to add up purchases with a pen and paper, and all humans just stand there, waiting on the computer to recover. The Singularity is, of course, a subject worthy of a volume on its own: Some believe humans will leap ahead in intelligence while others believe the human soul will be lost. One thing is clear, we already know how advanced technology dominates our lives, and certainly humans from the future would look back and see the coming Singularity as the second major milestone of human history.

And so, UFOs hang around because we current humans are wrestling with nuclear power (especially what it can do in war), and with the coming Singularity. It seems clear to me that our own descendants would find these 2 milestones in their ancient history extremely important, whereas ETs might shrug and say, “Well, yes, these are huge human problems, not ours, though, and so we are traveling on.”

UFO Question Two: Why do aliens mess around with our nuclear missile controls; whether we are Russian or American, we have witnessed UFOs hovering over our missile silos, turning launch codes on and off, and generally giving military men a nervous breakdown.

Answer: Future humans would have the greatest interest in manipulating human history for the better. Perhaps future humans do not even exist if nuclear weapons are ever launched, one country against another because at that point, perhaps nuclear contamination stops the progression of higher life on Earth.

Of course, according to me future humans do exist, so that should tell us that nothing life-ending ever did happen, and all our problems are eventually worked out. That’s true except that there are a lot of loops and knots in quantum time travel, so who really knows? Perhaps we did make it, but perhaps we only made it because these future humans create this positive reality by manipulating us in 2012. Yes, this becomes the stuff of science fiction but—those UFOs are in our skies! They come from somewhere – or some when!

UFO Question Three: Why abductions and other frightening actions?

Answer: Laboratory research is certainly something humans do. Do the police care if they frighten you if they take you in for questioning? Does a doctor care if he scares you as he tells you about a serious health condition? If he is a nice guy, he would rather not scare you, but he does his medical/scientific function with no problem, and some doctors don’t really care if they scare you or not. Do humans mutilate and kill lab animals for research reasons? We of 2012 might not know every reason that time-aliens are abducting and researching Earth life forms, but this behavior is classically human. We really don’t know if it is classically extraterrestrial.

UFO Question Four: There are human-looking aliens who are sometimes called “golden humans” or “Nordics” or “tall whites.” These may be 3 separate groups or they may be different names for the same group. How come extraterrestrials from far-distant planets look so much like humans? Yes, perhaps humanoid races were seeded across the galaxy. And how come other aliens look like human fetuses? Fetuses: Our own dear babies!

Answer: The simplest answer to the above questions is simply that these types of aliens are human! Perhaps the “golden humans” are from a mere 500 years ahead in “time.” Perhaps the fetuses are from 10,000 years ahead in time. It may not be that the golden humans evolved into fetuses, it may be that the human family tree continued to branch out as it always has. Thus we Homo sapiens do not look like Neanderthals, although it is obvious we are of the same general biological family.

To me, it is obvious that the golden humans and the fetuses are of our general biological family. Neither of them are Homo sapiens because many years have passed for them, and evolution moved on, branching, ever branching. Homo sapiens is hopefully not the last of the Family Tree, our tree will likely continue to grow.

Of course if time can be traveled in any “direction,” then perhaps the golden humans or the fetuses are from way back in time. The myths of gods and goddesses as well as the elongated heads of ancient Egyptian rulers, and so many other ancient astronaut concepts, suggest that time travelers were back in ancient time, too. Is their “native time” in ancient days or future days? “When” do they come from?

UFO Question Five: Why don’t the aliens just tell us where they are from and what they are doing? They have probably made an agreement with Earth governments not to deal directly with the human populace, but perhaps there is another reason.

Answer: It is actually easier to fathom that extraterrestrials got in their space ships and zoomed to Earth in a straight line, than it is to tackle the huge enigmas, paradoxes, knots, and conundrums of time traveling humans. The concept of time-aliens is really mind-blowing, bringing with it so many quantum possibilities which completely demolish our perception of reality itself. Perhaps the future humans just don’t feel we can handle it, or not yet. However, the many crises confronting Earth at present, I believe, demand that these time-aliens reveal themselves soon. That is a huge subject for another day.

I do not deny the existence of human-looking folk from the Pleiades or Zeta Reticuli or where-ever, and I know certain exo-histories have been theorized to explain various questions. I feel that the galaxy and the universe are so overwhelmingly vast and strange, that just about every theory ever produced, is probably true in some manner, shape or form.

What I am saying is that so many questions are answered quite simply if we consider that many of the UFO occupants are from our own Earth family tree, whether 5,000 years ahead or 20,000 years behind. “Time” is cyclical anyway and simply does not exist as a fixed solid.

I hope that in our near future, we who are fascinated with UFO occupants, will consider them as possible humans from Earth more seriously than we presently do. The idea is there within us, but we tend to just skim right over it. I feel it is, in fact, a big part of The Answer.

I also feel we don’t have to understand every nuance of quantum time travel in order to handle the fact that we are being visited and watched by ourselves. Perhaps we are even guided by ourselves, not as individuals (although that might be also), but as an evolving species.

Pogo the Opossum used to say, “I have met the enemy and he is us.” Perhaps one day soon we will say, “I have met the UFO occupant and she is us.”

dianetessman@hotmail.com website: www.earthchangepredictions.com
Free Exo-Trekking adventure: sign up!

Source: UFO Digest
http://www.ufodigest.com/article/ufo-occupants-time-not-space

- HOW NOT TO BE SEEN DEPARTMENT -

Spontaneous Human Invisibility
by Stephen Wagner

Incredible accounts of people who suddenly become completely invisible.

A WOMAN NAMED Melanie in Ventura, California had a strange experience while sitting on her own living room sofa. While just staring at the wall, she became, she believes, invisible. Her husband walked around the house looking for her. He even walked right by her - just a few feet away - and did not see her. The episode lasted about 10 minutes, then suddenly she was visible again.

This unusual story is one of several documented by Donna Higbee who is conducting extensive, ongoing research into a phenomenon she calls Human Spontaneous Involuntary Invisibility. According to the anecdotes Higbee tells at her website, The Research and Writings of Donna Higbee, people suddenly and unexpectedly become invisible. They don't seem to feel any differently when this occurs, and they can see and move around normally, just as if nothing has changed. Yet other people don't see them. They are ignored - totally - as if they aren't there.

The victims of this bizarre phenomenon attest that the experience is not the same as being ignored. Certainly, most of us have had feelings of being invisible in awkward moments at social occasions. But this experience is far different.

One of the anecdotes Higbee relates, in fact, takes place at a party. A 37-year-old man goes into a bathroom and comes out, apparently, totally invisible. He attempts to engage in conversation with several people, including his own girlfriend, but is ignored completely. He asks her for a cigarette, but receives no response. At first he thinks they are playing a joke on him and so returns to the bathroom in anger. When he comes out again, it's as if nothing had happened. Everything is back to normal and he could be seen again.

Higbee has collected several of these stories, and in every case the phenomenon takes place spontaneously, without warning, lasts a few minutes, and then ends. Several people have fallen victim to the invisibility more than once - they seem to be susceptible to it. She has even heard from people who claim to be able to occasionally control their invisibility at will.

Daniel S. felt he became invisible one day when he was with some friends who were setting off firecrackers. Daniel wanted them to stop because he was afraid the cops would show up and check IDs. This especially meant trouble for him because he had several unpaid tickets in his name. He was fearful of going to jail and losing his job. The police did show up, and they checked everyone's ID - except Daniel's:

    "The cops started at the other end of the line (there were two lines, one in front of the other) of people. I was standing behind a friend, who was a girl. The cop asked each person to hand him their IDs as he passed down the line. Then he would take the ID and call in each person. I was the last one in the behind line. I was also the largest person there. I was even larger than the policemen. The cop never even acted like he saw me. He never asked me for my ID. Neither of the two cops paid any attention to me. All of my friends, except the two who were taken in by the police, thought I had left. Many asked me afterward where I went to hide. I told all of them that I was there. No one would believe me."

Higbee offers no explanations for the phenomenon, yet wonders if it is in any way related to the powers claimed by yogis and practiced members of the Rosicrucians, both of whom say that human invisibility is not only possible, but controllable. Higbee raises the possibility that this invisibility might somehow correlate to the experiences of UFO abductees. In the cases of many abductees, their abductors not only seem to be able to become visible and invisible at will, but the abductees themselves are often rendered invisible by their alien captors, transporting them through closed windows and solid walls all the way up to the spaceships which, themselves, may be capable of invisibility.

If the stories these victims relate are true, then it's difficult to know what to make of the phenomenon. But Donna Higbee continues to investigate it and to collect information and experiences from all those who are willing to share them.

Is there proof of any kind? How about photos? There have been some anomalous photos taken that allege to show partial human invisibility:

    A photo called "She's Lost Her Head" from the Coast to Coast website was taken in Las Vegas. When the fellow took the photo inside one of the hotels, a woman stepped in front of him - but she doesn't seem to have a head. Her torso with her coat and purse strap are clearly visible, but her head is invisible.
    In this mystery photo at GhostStudy.com of a group of World War II soldiers, one of the soldiers in the background seems to be transparent. Is it a photo anomaly, a ghost or a case of human invisibility?

Voluntary Invisibility

The above cases concern people who seem to have become invisible spontaneously - unknowingly and without effort. But what if you WANT to become invisible? Is there a method for achieving this?

    There is an unconfirmed story of a man who achieved invisibility through the use of his self-invented Electro-Helmet in 1934. Before witnesses, the story goes, he placed the helmet on his head, stepped into a cabinet and touched some "contact gloves" above his head. When an electric current was switched on, he gradually became invisible, from toe to head. The young scientist's body could be felt through touch, it is said, but not seen. Real or a magician's trick?
    Wingmakers, which says it gets its information from "guardians," has a webpage on inducing invisibility on small objects as well as your own body.
    Richard Bartle says he knows how to make invisibility paint. His witch's brew includes cob webs, slug's eye stalks, and the sting "from a poisonous cat" (?) among other things. The crazy ingredients seems to make the creation of the paint impossible - which, of course, it is.

But if anyone succeeds in making it, please let me know.

Source: paranormal.about.com
http://paranormal.about.com/cs/humanenigmas/a/aa112403.htm

- FORBIDDEN ARCHEOLOGY DEPARTMENT -

New Discoveries Around 'Jesus Family Tomb'

Archaeologists exploring a 1st century Christian burial chamber have discovered an ancient inscription on a coffin lid which they believe could prove the site is the final resting place of Jesus.

Using a remote-controlled camera connected to a robotic arm to probe below a tower block in Jerusalem, the archaeologists were staggered to discover a set of 1st century 'bone boxes'.

The lid on one of these limestone boxes, also known as ossuaries, carries an inscription in Greek which could be translated as 'Divine Jehovah, raise up, raise up'.

Another carries a drawing of a fish with a stick figure in its mouth which is believed to refer to the story of Jonah and the Whale - one of the very first biblical stories.

The find is 200ft away from an earlier discovery known as the Jesus Family Tomb, which caused a huge amount of controversy after it was uncovered in the 1980s.

Archaeologists then claimed it contained ossuaries inscribed with names associated with Jesus's family.

That discovery sprouted amazing theories including one that maintained Jesus had been buried there alongside Mary Magdalene who he had married and raised a family with.

However many leading theologians and archaeologists rubbished such claims as being completely unfounded.

The Jesus Family Tomb was only examined briefly before protests by Orthodox Jews, concerned about the disturbance of a grave site, ended the excavation.

It was then sealed up, and a tower block built over it.

However James Tabor, a scriptural scholar at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and documentary filmmaker Simcha Jacobovici were determined to continue the research.

The pair obtained permission from the Israeli government in 2010 to use the robotic arm to drill holes allowing them to explore the surrounding area.

This led to the discovery of a separate chamber which they named the 'Patio Tomb', as it sits almost directly below the patio of the building.

They argue believe both tombs are part of the same complex which may have been the property of Joseph of Arimathea, who, according to the gospels, buried Jesus.

One of the limestone ossuaries carries a Greek inscription calling on God to 'rise up' or 'raise up' someone.

Another shows the image of a fish with a stick figure in its mouth which Tabor has suggested could represent the prophet Jonah.

Mr Tabor said: 'This inscription has something to do with resurrection of the dead, either of the deceased in the ossuary, or perhaps, given the Jonah image nearby, an expression of faith in Jesus' resurrection.

In the earliest gospel materials the 'sign of Jonah,' as mentioned by Jesus, has been interpreted as a symbol of his resurrection.

Jonah images in later 'early' Christian art, such as images found in the Roman catacombs, are the most common motif found on tombs as a symbol of Christian resurrection hope.

In contrast, the story of Jonah is not depicted in any first century Jewish art and iconographic images on ossuaries are extremely rare, given the prohibition within Judaism of making images of people or animals.

The tomb in question is dated prior to 70 CE, when ossuary use in Jerusalem ceased due to the Roman destruction of the city.

If the markings are Christian, the engravings represent the earliest archaeological record of Christians ever found.

So the engravings were most likely made by some of Jesus' earliest followers, within decades of his death, predating the writing of the gospels.

'If anyone had claimed to find either a statement about resurrection or a Jonah image in a Jewish tomb of this period I would have said impossible -- until now,' Tabor said. 'Our team was in a kind of ecstatic disbelief, but the evidence was clearly before our eyes, causing us to revise our prior assumptions.'

The publication of the academic article is concurrent with the publication of a book by Simon & Schuster entitled 'The Jesus Discovery: The New Archaeological Find That Reveals the Birth of Christianity.' A documentary on the discovery will be aired by the Discovery Channel in spring 2012.

The findings and their interpretation are likely to be controversial, since most scholars are skeptical of any Christian archaeological remains from so early a period.

Adding to the controversy is the tomb's close proximity to a second tomb, discovered in 1980. This tomb, dubbed by some 'The Jesus Family Tomb,' contained inscribed ossuaries that some scholars associate with Jesus and his family, including one that reads 'Jesus, son of Joseph.'

'Context is everything in archaeology,' Tabor pointed out. 'These two tombs, less than 200 feet apart, were part of an ancient estate, likely related to a rich family of the time.

'We chose to investigate this tomb because of its proximity to the so-called 'Jesus tomb,' not knowing if it would yield anything unusual.'

Among the approximately 2000 ossuaries that have been recovered by the Israel Antiquities Authority, only 650 have any inscriptions on them, and none have inscriptions comparable to the team's finds.

Less than a dozen ossuaries from the period have epitaphs but, according to Tabor, these inscribed messages usually have to do with warnings not to disturb the bones of the dead. In contrast, the four-line Greek inscription contains some kind of statement of resurrection faith.

Tabor noted that the epitaph's complete and final translation is uncertain. The first three lines are clear, but the last line, consisting of three Greek letters, is less sure, yielding several possible translations: 'O Divine Jehovah, raise up, raise up,' or 'The Divine Jehovah raises up to the Holy Place,' or 'The Divine Jehovah raises up from.'

'This inscription has something to do with resurrection of the dead, either of the deceased in the ossuary, or perhaps, given the Jonah image nearby, an expression of faith in Jesus' resurrection,' Tabor said.

The ossuary with the image that Tabor and his team understand to be representing Jonah also has other interesting engravings. These also may be connected to resurrection, Tabor notes. On one side is the tail of a fish disappearing off the edge of the box, as if it is diving into the water.

There are small fish images around its border on the front facing, and on the other side is the image of a cross-like gate or entrance—which Tabor interprets as the notion of entering the 'bars' of death, which are mentioned in the Jonah story in the Bible.

Source: Daily Mail
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2107591/Jesus-discovery-Does-1st-Century-coffin-lid-Jerusalem-reveal-Jesus-resting-place.html

- JUST THE FACTS PLEASE DEPARTMENT -

Navajo Task Force investigates the paranormal

WINDOW ROCK, AZ - With this story, keep in mind that we really do tell it like it is -- even when it is hard to believe.

There is a law enforcement agency in Arizona that actually welcomes claims of the paranormal -- ghosts, witchcraft, UFOs and even Bigfoot.

CBS 5 News obtained dozens of photos and case files from strange scenes and sightings in northeastern Arizona.

Most police won't take reports like this. But about 10 years ago, officials on the Navajo Reservation decided to stop the snickering, to treat these witnesses with respect and thoroughly investigate.

Only one agency -- the Navajo Nation Rangers -- stepped up to the plate. For the first time ever, they are sharing their documents exclusively with CBS 5 News.

Retired Lt. John Dover explains that Navajo Nation Rangers are a federal law enforcement resource. They manage national parks, archaeological sites, fish and wildlife services and more as officers of the law.

Dover spent 31 years in police work -- the last 10 included claims of the paranormal.

"Haunted locations and things going bump in the night," he said. "Objects appearing out of the air and dropping onto the floors, objects flying across rooms, ceramic vessels exploding and then we got involved in UFO investigations."

In one of the most solid cases, a mother and daughter describe a mass of lights floating over uninhabited reservation land in January. As they watched, the lights blinked out after a few seconds, followed by a sonic boom, a black domed craft and the entire town of Chinle losing power.

Their drawings are strikingly vivid -- blue, orange and white colors stand out against a dark landscape.

There are also reports of Bigfoot. The hairy creature is most often associated with the Pacific Northwest. However, both the Apache and Navajo tribes say they've got Sasquatch too.

One case Dover investigated had 30 witnesses. "We came out with physical evidence," he said. "Hair samples, footprints, stride distances, logs that had been pulled out of the bog area and removed -- normal people wouldn't have been able to do that."

Here in Arizona, so-called paranormal activity is abundant, but serious investigation is not. Just ask Jim Mann, state director of the research organization MUFON.

Mann told CBS 5 News, "Tribal lands are filled with Native American legends and folklore and we know those people take the UFO phenomenon very seriously."

Mann said partnering with the Rangers is a huge step forward for the field of paranormal research. "It's always been the history that unfortunately the news media has sort of rolled their eyes at us and snickered at us," he said. "We have to grow up and realize this phenomena is really happening and we have to get over the giggle factor."

Dover says 10 years of investigations have revealed a wealth of information. Witnesses are comfortable speaking with officers who promise to be thorough and protect their anonymity. "Maybe we don't believe it," he said. "Maybe we don't hold every belief that you do, but we're going to investigate it rather meticulously and professionally. We'll report it and let the chips fall where they will."

More often than not, Dover said those chips fall on the side of truth. "Their testimony would be accepted in a court of law. The confidence level is high," he said. "We've seen them ourselves on occasion. We've seen cigar-shaped craft flying low, we've seen orbs. I had one follow me for about 30 minutes one time."

Dover retired from the Rangers last year but still consults unofficially on the side. The Rangers continue to take paranormal reports. "The cases are coming from people that are just normal people who were very afraid -- something unusual was happening to them," he said. "They didn't know what was going on, they didn't know if it was military, something supernatural, if it was witchcraft. They wanted answers and they wanted to know that somebody cared enough about them to find those answers for them."

Source: KPHO CBS 5
http://www.kpho.com/story/17051488/cbs-5-exclusive-paranormal-task-force

Sign up today for Bizarre Bazaar and Conspiracy Journal Magazines

Click on banner to sign up for two FREE magazines!


The Kevin Cook Show on Inception Radio Network


Informant News-Tapping into the Multiverse for a good Story!



PSI TALK-The Internet's Only Paranormal Web Station!


UFO Digest


Cosmic Horizons - Thursday at 6:30pm Eastern
www.blogtalkradio.com


The Paracast
Sunday, 7:00–10:00 PM Eastern on GCN Radio


Conspiracy Journal - Issue 661 3/2/12
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html