4/12/15  #817
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html
You can view this newsletter online at:
http://uforeview.tripod.com/conspiracyjournal817.html

Don't open the door! Don't go into the basement! Don't look under the bed! DON'T OPEN THE CLOSET! Is it ghosts? Is it ghouls? Is it little hairy monsters with big teeth and claws? Is it the anti-Christ here to make bad movies? NO - It's another spine-tingling issue of your favorite weekly newsletter of conspiracies, UFOs, the paranormal, and everything else spooky and scary - CONSPIRACY JOURNAL.


This week, Conspiracy Journal takes a look at such 666 tales as:

- Do Pilots Believe in UFOs?  Many Do! -
-  The Bell Witch – Poltergeist Activity and the UFO Phenomenon Part 1 -
NASA To Investigate Four Corners Mystery
AND: The Legend of the Oklahoma Octopus

All these exciting stories and MORE in this week's issue of
CONSPIRACY JOURNAL!

~ And Now, On With The Show! ~


JUST OUT . . . SPECIAL ON LINE EDITION OF THE
CONSPIRACY JOURNAL --- MORE COLOR, MORE PAGES


 
Here is a direct link to Issue # 43
 
http://therealmidori.com/CJ-43.pdf

Order Now Thru PayPal or Credit Card and we will discount your order by 15%. E Mail us at mrufo8@hotmail.com and we will send you a PayPal invoice. Credit Card  hotline is 732 602-3407 . . .either leave an order or we can call you back, but you must answer.

And be sure to visit our YouTube site for FREE video interviews.
MrUFOs Secret Files
 
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=mr+ufos+secret+files

 Timothy Beckley, Publisher
 
PS: You're invited to join Tim Swartz and Mike Mott every Sunday at Midnight for fabulousguests. Just go to theouteredgeradio.com on almost any internet device.  Tim Beckleyco-hosts the Sunday of every month. Paranormal radio like you've never heard it before.

Incredible New Book From Conspiracy Journal


UFO Repeaters
Seeing is Believing!

OVER 100 NEVER BEFORE PUBLISHED UFO PHOTOS! ARE THEY THE CHOSEN?

Here are well documented cases of those rare individuals who have experienced an ongoing series of encounters with UFO occupants – and have the uncanny ability to take remarkable photos of their craft on an ongoing basis. – Some showing the aliens themselves!

THEY ARE KNOWN AS THE “UFO REPEATERS”. . .

From the very first UFO sighting, it was assumed that a UFO witness was simply in the “right place at the right time” and that observing another UFO sometime in their life would be like being stuck by lightening more than once.

But this concept is now generally thought to be utterly false – for there is a subset of “very special” individuals who have the uncanny ability to “call down” UFOs at will and to even take repeated photographs of their craft.

UFO expert Tim Beckley asks probing questions like: – Is the UFO Repeater solely responsible for the images on film or video? Do the aliens keep track of their “Chosen Ones” with perhaps an implanted homing device? Or does the repeat witness blindly stumble on to a locale that has become a “hotspot” that draws repeated UFO activity?

This book features some of the individuals who have the described “magical and mental powers” to sustain an ongoing relationship with other-worldly beings.

UFO Repeaters: Seeing Is Believing! The Camera Doesn't Lie” offers a wonderful opportunity to see and ponder dozens of new photos taken by a tiny segment of humanity who the UFO occupants have selected to reveal themselves to on a one to one basis over a long period of time.

For subscribers of the Conspiracy Journal Newsletter this new book special is on sale for the price of only $18.00 (plus $5.00 shipping).  This offer will not last long so ORDER TODAY! 


You can also phone in your credit card orders to Global Communications
24-hour hotline: 732-602-3407

And as always you can send a check or money order to:
Global Communications
P.O. Box 753
New Brunswick, NJ  08903

Please make out checks to: Timothy Green Beckley

Join Us on The Outer Edge - Every Sunday Night!

The Outer Edge Webcast With W.M. Mott and Tim R. Swartz
Sunday Nights
11:59PM EST / 9 pm PST

This Weeks Guest: Lyle Blackburn

http://theouteredgeradio.com/

Heard on the PSN-Radio Network - psn-radio.com

Also: Check Out W.M. Mott's latest blog at: http://mottimorphic.com/blog/2014/09/10/the-footprints-of-the-damned/

- LOOK, UP IN THE SKY DEPARTMENT -

Do Pilots Believe in UFOs? Many Do!
By Alejandro Rojas

A pilot who contributes articles to New York Daily News, recently wrote an article about UFOs and commercial pilots, and he included his own incredible UFO sighting.

The title of the article is “Do pilots believe in UFOs? Many of them do and here is my close encounter story,” and it is written by Andrew Danziger. According to New York Daily News, Danziger is a 28 year airline veteran. He has served as a captain on international flights for the last 14 years. He has also been an instructor, and was even one of President Obama’s pilots during the 2008 campaign.

Danziger says many pilots have shared UFO stories with him, and he claims “virtually all pilots believe in UFOs.” He says they are skeptical when it comes to alien abductions and little green men, but, as Danziger puts it, “with billions of stars and trillions of planets out there, ‘ya gotta believe’, and almost all of us do.”

His sighting took place in 1989, and in the article he gives every detail. Instead of trying to summarize it, I thought it would be best just to share it in his words. If you appreciate Danziger sharing his story, as I do, be sure to go to the story on New York Daily News and tell him you appreciate his article.

Here is his UFO encounter:

People love to ask pilots questions. But my favorite, and certainly the most interesting, is “Have you ever seen a UFO while flying?”

The answer is yes. And here’s how it happened.

It was April 10, 1989 and early in my career. I was still a first officer at a regional airline. It was about 8 p.m. and we had just taken off from Kansas City International Airport bound for Waterloo, Iowa. It was a beautiful evening, with a full moon, clear skies and crisp early spring temperatures. The weather forecast for Waterloo was as nice, with clear skies and unlimited visibility.

After a short taxi and take-off, Air Traffic Control (ATC) cleared us to our cruise altitude of 15,000 feet. We established a Northeasterly heading, pointed strait at Waterloo, about 200 miles ahead. There were thin wispy clouds all around us, illuminated by the light of the full moon that shone through the captain’s-side window at our left. Despite the presence of these clearly visible wispy clouds everywhere, we weren’t flying through any of them. There was also a white disc dimly but clearly visible through those clouds just off to our right.

We flew on and I commented to Bruce, the captain, about this dimly visible disc. He said that he’d been watching the same thing since we had leveled off. It looked similar to the moon faintly visible though thin fog, except the two were visible at the same time on opposite sides of our cockpit. We looked down below for search lights, you know, the kind that’s sometimes used for aerial light displays or advertising at a car dealer, but there was no beam of light coming from the ground, no search light from an airport either. The captain and I had cumulatively spent many years flying and were accustomed to seeing — day and night — all manner of airplane, blimp, hot air balloon, satellite and bird. But neither of us had any idea what this disc could be.

We spent 20 to 30 minutes at our cruise altitude, all the while staring at this white disc dimly visible through some clouds that we somehow never seemed to fly through. Within about 40 miles of Waterloo, ATC confirmed the weather, still clear skies and unrestricted visibility at our destination as we began to descend. We got busy with our flying duties and for a short while, maybe for a minute, both of us had looked away from the disc, but when I looked up at it again I saw something that has been burned into my memory.

I yelled to Bruce, “Holy s–t.” He immediately looked over from what he was doing. Above the clouds, where the white disc had been, was a now giant red ball. It was big and bright and just sat there above the clouds. It wasn’t intense enough to illuminate us with a red glow but it was still plenty bright. We sat there in stunned silence. We obviously didn’t want to hit it but quickly saw that it was flying parallel to our course. We weren’t on a collision course and we also weren’t gaining on it. Time became a blur as we continued our descent, this giant, red ball holding its course.

We slowly lost altitude and at around 13,000 feet, the brightly glowing ball began a gradual descent, too. As it did, it slowly started disappearing behind those wispy clouds. In about 30 seconds, like a setting sun but not nearly as bright, it vanished behind the clouds. The instant it fully disappeared, hundreds of lights began flashing from within the clouds.

As I looked on in disbelief, the flashing lights were brighter than ever and I could see that the section of the cloud that the glowing red ball had descended behind was starting to stretch apart like a piece of “Silly Putty,” two halves being pulled slowly apart with the middle getting thinner and thinner. This continued until the halves grew so thin that it tore apart and, pop! Everything was gone. The dimly lit disc, the flashing lights, the thin wispy clouds that we had with us for the last 40 minutes; all of it, gone. There wasn’t a cloud in the sky. Only the full moon remained off to our left.

Bruce and I just looked at each other. “Oh my God, what the f–k was that”, was all I could muster. My colleague just stared out the windscreen, mesmerized. We discussed whether we should report what we had just witnessed. After a few minutes, I picked up the radio mic and asked the Kansas City Center controller if they had anything on radar. “Nope, nothing but you,” came the response. “No, not right now but a couple minutes ago, at our one to two o’clock,” I replied. “No,” he repeated, “It’s a slow night. I’ve got the entire sector between Kansas City and Waterloo and you’re all that’s been in it for the last hour.” Bruce and I again just looked at each other, completely dumbfounded. “So for the last say 40 minutes or so you’ve had no traffic at all, not at our one or two o’clock?” I asked. “No sir, not at your one or two o’clock, not anywhere, you’re all there is,” he assured us.

A minute or so later, from over the radio came, “Air Midwest , do you want to report a UFO?” We looked at each other for a couple seconds and Bruce nodded his head. “Yes sir, we do,” I finally replied. “OK, take down this number and call when you get on the ground.”

After deplaning we called the number. “National UFO Reporting Center” said the voice from the other end. At the time I didn’t even know such a place existed, but they took collect calls from pilots and air traffic controllers. Bruce told the person on the other end of the line that we wanted to report a UFO. We were interviewed separately, first the captain and then me. When my interview was finished the man on the other end of the line said that we would never hear from him again and would never receive any additional information, this was going to be our first and only contact regarding the sighting. I asked, “Can I ask just one question, do you think we’re crazy, has anyone else ever reported something like this?”

“Oh no, you’re not crazy at all,” he replied. “This very same thing has been reported by pilots countless times.” And while neither of us had any idea what we had saw one thing we were certain of, it wasn’t from here.

Our airline had no official UFO policy (nor did any that I ever worked for), but at the time we were both young with long and promising careers in front of us. We knew through the grapevine that pilots weren’t supposed to talk about UFOs so we swore the station agent on duty to secrecy and agreed not to talk about our incident to any of our co-workers.

That was more than 25 years ago. Today I’m older, wiser and at the end of my career. In my last few years of flying the subject of UFOs occasionally came up in the cockpit. If it was brought up at all, it was usually by a younger, newer first officer who’d say something with much trepidation. More than a few pilots have shared their UFO stories with me, too. I’m not going too far out on a ledge to say that virtually all pilots believe in UFOs. Little green men, “close encounters”, alien kidnappings,… not so much, but with billions of stars and trillions of planets out there, “ya gotta believe”, and almost all of us do.

Source: Open Minds
http://www.openminds.tv/pilot-who-flew-candidate-obama-talks-about-his-ufo-
sighting/32978

- GHOSTIES AND GHOULIES DEPARTMENT -

The Bell Witch – Poltergeist Activity and the UFO Phenomenon Part 1
By Sean Casteel

That poltergeist activity often follows in the wake of a UFO encounter is a generally recognized fact and has been documented frequently by researchers of alien abduction and other paranormal investigators. Whatever the source of the energy is that drives a “noisy ghost,” UFO witnesses seem to possess it in abundance.

There is even a scene in Steven Spielberg’s classic 1977 UFO movie, “Close Encounters of the Third Kind,” in which actress Melinda Dillon is laid siege by various household objects moving of their own accord and creating a frightening sense of chaos that precedes the abduction of her young son by the aliens. It is sometimes argued that many kinds of paranormal events – including Near Death Experiences and hauntings – form a kind of supernatural continuum and are all manifestations of the flying saucer occupants operating from various planes outside our everyday reality.

Objects were seen floating in the air — common at both poltergeist infestations and UFO encounters.

If such is the case, then it behooves us to study subjects like poltergeist hauntings in the hope

of better understanding how the different aspects of UFOlogy form a cohesive whole. The new release from the publishing house Global Communications called “The Bell Witch Project” does just that when it examines an early 19th century poltergeist haunting that received wide publicity in the U.S. and remains a controversial case to this day. The new book is part of the “Very Strange People” series that also includes a volume on “Mad” Mollie Fancher, a celebrated “fasting girl” who claimed to live for 51 years without ingesting a single morsel of food.

WHO WAS THE BELL WITCH?

The uniquely American story of the Bell Witch haunting, in which a ghost took up residence in the home of a Kentucky farming family in 1817, began when

John Bell, the head of the family, was out walking through his cornfield. He sighted a strange, doglike creature in the distance that suddenly

disappeared. Around the same time, Bell’s son and daughter were walking through an orchard when they noticed an old woman walking beside them. When the daughter spoke to the old woman, the old woman simply disappeared.

These sightings were followed by strange, inexplicable noises in and around the Bell house, such as knocking sounds on doors and windows, wings flapping against the roof and animals fighting and scratching. As the noises became more intense, the family tried desperately to find the source but found nothing. Then bed coverings began slipping off the beds as if being pulled by someone. Sometimes one could hear noises like lips smacking and gulping. The Bell household became a noisy nightmare.

One night the spirit began to talk, introducing itself with hysterical, mocking laughter. When asked its name, the spirit answered “Kate.” The spirit began to speak incessantly, arguing theology, teasing and tormenting, spreading gossip and singing loudly. She seemed to know intimate details about everyone and took great delight in being able to pester the household at will.

The poltergeist claimed to have been conjured by the deceased spirit of a woman named Kate Batts, whose invalid husband had been cheated in a slave deal with John Bell. There are historical records to the effect that Bell had been convicted of the crime of usury, or charging excessive interest, in the deal. On her deathbed, Kate Batts swore she would haunt Bell and his descendants.

The spirit abused John Bell in many ways. She threw furniture and dishes at him, pulled his nose, yanked his hair and poked needles into him. She yelled at night to keep him from sleeping and snatched the food from his mouth at mealtime, all in the effort to vent her anger and hatred.

No one ever saw Kate/the Bell Witch, but every visitor to the Bell home could hear her all too well. Future president Andrew Jackson, who at the time was a general in the Tennessee militia, once visited the Bell home, curious to see if the widely circulating stories were true. “I’d rather fight the British in New Orleans than have to fight the Bell Witch,” Jackson is alleged to have said after spending the night in the Bell home.

John Bell died in 1820, weak and exhausted by years of physical abuse from the Bell Witch. At his funeral, attended by hundreds of friends and curiosity seekers, Kate laughed and mocked the family, singing loudly and joyously in her triumph. Kate stayed on the Bell property for another year and then departed. She returned briefly seven years later. The remaining members of the Bell family either died or moved away but, to this day, strange lights and ghostly apparitions have been seen in the area. Some believe that John Bell’s restless ghost still wanders the land he once owned and farmed.

ANOTHER PERSPECTIVE ON THE BELL WITCH STORY

Medium and UFO observer Shawn Robbins adds to the knowledge of the “Bell Witch” poltergeist by traveling back to the time of the event under the direction of the original “ghost hunter,” Hans Holzer.

“The Bell Witch Project” also offers the perspective of present day psychic Shawn Robbins, a protégé of the late ghost hunter, Hans Holzer. Hans often relied on Shawn’s psychic abilities in order to facilitate contact with spirits from the other side since he possessed few such powers himself. In the book’s opening chapter, Shawn talks about the day Hans invited her over to try to establish a “remote-viewing” link to the Bell Witch house. After Hans put Shawn into a hypnotically-induced, trancelike state, she revealed aspects of the story previously unknown.

“I immediately encountered the ethereal spirit, Kate Batts,” Shawn writes, “who had a distraught and distressed look on her face. She quickly pointed to her belly and said, ‘It is not my child.’

“‘Who then?’ I asked. ‘The slave Wilbur,’ she replied. I asked Kate why this was important. She answered, ‘I was raped.’ At that very moment I knew this was the information that Hans sought and had eluded so many others. In further conversations with the Bell Witch, Kate revealed to me she carried the child for seven months and gave birth to it prematurely. The male child died a few hours later. When her husband saw the baby was not his, he immediately went into shock and accused Kate of having an affair.”

The relationship between Kate Batts and her husband Frederick was never the same afterward. Frederick never forgave what he took to be her adulterous union with a slave, and Kate never forgave herself for never telling Frederick she was raped.

When Shawn awakened from her trance, Hans wrote down everything she said and later used the material on the Bell Witch in one of his many books. The idea that Kate Batts was raped by a slave adds credibility to the notion of her anger and desire for vengeance and its expression from beyond the grave.

VAMPIRES IN EARLY AMERICA

“The Bell Witch Project” also covers other forms of paranormal strangeness, including legends of vampires and spectral invaders. Noted author and talk show host Paul Eno – www.behindtheparanormal.com  – has collected many a weird tale over the years, including – surprisingly enough – real life vampires in early America.

“Each of our six New England states has had vampire cases,” Paul writes. “Several of the more striking incidents occurred in eastern Connecticut and Rhode Island in the period between roughly 1770 and 1900. Belief in vampires, in one form or another, has filtered down from the remote past.”

Eno tells the story of the Brown family of Rhode Island. Mary Brown, the mother, died of consumption on December 8, 1883, leaving her husband to care for their one son and several daughters. Six months later, the oldest daughter, 20-year-old Mary, died of the same disease. Edwin, the son, contracted consumption and relocated to Colorado, hoping to recover in a different climate. Declining rapidly, Edwin returned to Rhode Island, only to find that his 19-year-old sister Mercy had the disease and was in even worse shape than he.

As Edwin battled for his life, Mercy died in January of 1892. Twelve members of the Brown family conferred on what could be done for Edwin, who, given his former strength and health, should not be wasting away. They concluded unanimously that a vampire must be draining the life out of him – a vampire that likely resided in the grave of one of the three deceased family members.

“So, on a cold March day in 1892,” Eno recounts, “a grim assembly arrived at the Chestnut Hill   Cemetery in Exeter. The remains of Mrs. Brown and Mary, buried for years, proved to be only skeletons. But in Mercy’s grave was a startling find. Not only did the body look in the pink of health, with blood in the heart and arteries, but it had turned over partway in the coffin. The vampire hunters cut the girl’s heart from her body and burned it on a rock that still can be seen not far from the grave.”

The ashes of the heart were gathered up, to be dissolved in medicine in the hope of curing Edwin. The grotesque remedy did Edwin no good; he died shortly thereafter.

Suggested Reading

THE BELL WITCH PROJECT: POLTERGEISTS, GHOSTS, EXORCISMS AND THE SUPERNATURAL IN EARLY AMERICAN HISTORY

AMERICA'S STRANGE AND SUPERNATURAL HISTORY: INCLUDING PROPHECY OF THE PRESIDENTS

LEVITATION AND INVISIBILITY

Source: Spectral Vision
https://spectralvision.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/the-bell-witch-poltergeist
-activity-and-the-ufo-phenomenon-part-1/

- IS IT GETTING HOT HERE OR WHAT DEPARTMENT -

NASA To Investigate Four Corners Mystery

A small 'hot spot' in the U.S. Southwest is responsible for producing the largest concentration of the greenhouse gas methane seen over the United States - and is the subject of a major new investigation to find out why.

The hot spot, near the Four Corners intersection of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah, covers only about 2,500 square miles (6,500 square kilometers), or half the size of Connecticut.

A recent Nasa map shows is produces more than triple the standard ground-based estimate - and researchers say they don't know why.

Researchers from several institutions are now in the Four Corners region of the U.S. Southwest with a suite of airborne and ground-based instruments, aiming to uncover reasons for a mysterious methane 'hot spot' detected from space.

'With all the ground-based and airborne resources that the different groups are bringing to the region, we have the unique chance to unequivocally solve the Four Corners mystery,' said Christian Frankenberg, a scientist at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, California, who is heading NASA's part of the effort.

Other investigators are from the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) in Boulder, Colorado; the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA); and the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

Last fall, researchers including Frankenberg reported that a small region around the Four Corners intersection of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah had the highest concentration of methane over background levels of any part of the United States.

An instrument on a European Space Agency satellite measuring greenhouse gases showed a persistent atmospheric hot spot in the area between 2003 and 2009. The amount of methane observed by the satellite was much higher than previously estimated.

The satellite observations were not detailed enough to reveal the actual sources of the methane in the Four Corners.

Likely candidates include venting from oil and gas activities, which are primarily coalbed methane exploration and extraction in this region; active coal mines; and natural gas seeps.

Researchers from CIRES, NOAA's Earth Systems Research Laboratory and Michigan are conducting a field campaign called TOPDOWN (Twin Otter Projects Defining Oil Well and Natural gas emissions) 2015, bringing airborne and ground-based instruments to investigate possible sources of the methane hot spot.

The JPL team will join the effort on April 17 and fly two complementary remote sensing instruments on two Twin Otter research aircraft.

The Next-Generation Airborne Visible/Infrared Imaging Spectrometer (AVIRISng), which observes spectra of reflected sunlight, flies at a higher altitude and will be used to map methane at fine resolution over the entire region.

Using this information and ground measurements from the other research teams, the Hyperspectral Thermal Emission Spectrometer (HyTES) will fly over suspected methane sources, making additional, highly sensitive measurements of methane.

Depending on its flight altitude, the NASA aircraft can image methane features with a spatial resolution better than three feet (one meter) square. In other words, it can create a mosaic showing how methane levels vary every few feet, enabling the identification of individual sources.

With the combined resources, the investigators hope to quantify the region's overall methane emissions and pinpoint contributions from different sources. They will track changes over the course of the month-long effort and study how meteorology transports emissions through the region.

'If we can verify the methane detected by the satellite and identify its sources, decision-makers will have critical information for any actions they are considering,' said CIRES scientist Gabrielle Pétron, one of the mission's investigators. Part of President Obama's recent Climate Action Plan calls for reductions in methane emissions.

The research team also includes scientists from the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research at the University of Colorado, Boulder; the U.S. Bureau of Land Management; and the state of New Mexico.

In each of the seven years studied from 2003-2009, the area released about 0.59 million metric tons of methane into the atmosphere.

This is almost 3.5 times the estimate for the same area in the European Union's widely used Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research.

In the study published online today in the journal Geophysical Research Letters, researchers used observations made by the European Space Agency's Scanning Imaging Absorption Spectrometer for Atmospheric Chartography (SCIAMACHY) instrument, which measured greenhouse gases from 2002 to 2012.

The atmospheric hot spot persisted throughout the study period.

A ground station in the Total Carbon Column Observing Network, operated by the Department of Energy's Los Alamos National Laboratory, provided independent validation of the measurement.

To calculate the emissions rate that would be required to produce the observed concentration of methane in the air, the authors performed high-resolution regional simulations using a chemical transport model, which simulates how weather moves and changes airborne chemical compounds.

Research scientist Christian Frankenberg of NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California, first noticed the Four Corners signal years ago in SCIAMACHY data.

'We didn't focus on it because we weren't sure if it was a true signal or an instrument error,' Frankenberg said.

The study's lead author, Eric Kort of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, noted the study period predates the widespread use of hydraulic fracturing, known as fracking, near the hot spot.

This indicates the methane emissions should not be attributed to fracking but instead to leaks in natural gas production and processing equipment in New Mexico's San Juan Basin, which is the most active coalbed methane production area in the country.

'The results are indicative that emissions from established fossil fuel harvesting techniques are greater than inventoried,' Kort said.

'There's been so much attention on high-volume hydraulic fracturing, but we need to consider the industry as a whole.'

Coalbed methane is gas that lines pores and cracks within coal. In underground coal mines, it is a deadly hazard that causes fatal explosions almost every year as it seeps out of the rock. After the U.S. energy crisis of the 1970s, techniques were invented to extract the methane from the coal and use it for fuel. By 2012, coalbed methane supplied about 8 percent of all natural gas in the United States.

Frankenberg noted that the study demonstrates the unique role space-based measurements can play in monitoring greenhouse gases.

'Satellite data cannot be as accurate as ground-based estimates, but from space, there are no hiding places,' Frankenberg said.

In March 2014 the Obama Administration announced a strategy to reduce methane emissions under its Climate Action Plan.

The strategy includes improving the measurement and monitoring of methane emissions and assessing current methane emissions data.

Source: The Daily Mail
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3031023/America-s-massive-methane
-mystery-Nasa-set-investigate-unexplained-hotspot-four-corners-intersection-
Southwest.html

- WITH WINGS OF DARKNESS AN AIR OF DEATH DEPARTMENT -

Mothman and the Silver Bridge
By Nick Redfern

As history, legend, and folklore note, there are far more than a few cases on record where strange creatures, and mysterious entities, have been seen in the direct vicinity of bridges. A classic example is a case I have extensively investigated, that of the so-called “Man-Monkey” of Bridge 39 on England’s centuries-old Shropshire Union Canal. Numerous reports – dating back to 1879 – exist of the hairy, shining-eyed, monkey-like animal leaping out of the surrounding and dense trees and scaring the living daylights out of the unwary.

Moving on, previously classified British Ministry of Defense files tell the strange story of a young woman named Diane Foulkes. In both 1964 and 1966, Foulkes had a series of terrifying flying saucer-style sightings at Montford Bridge, on England’s River Severn. In each case, Foulkes reported how the presence of the saucers at the bridge affected the engine and headlights of her car, made her feel “very ill” and left her “extremely frightened.”

On top of that, internal MoD files note: “Miss Foulkes further stated that she believed that the objects could be associated with a Mr. Griffin who lived in the area and who is reputed to have made contact with these objects and actually entered one and met one of the occupants. He is also alleged to make his contacts with them at Montford Bridge.”

Then there is the Goat-Man of Denton, Texas, which haunts the town’s Old Alton Bridge. Some say the beast is quite literally half-human and half-goat – a theory which is, of course, as impossible as it is laughable. Others suggest the creature is one of definitive paranormal proportions. Whatever “it” may be, however, the mystery and the legend seem unlikely to go away any time soon.

In her 2006 book, Mystery Big Cats, author Merrily Harpur writes of the associations between paranormal phenomena and bridges – places which she calls “liminal zones.” Harpur says: “These are the transitional zones between one area and another – the kind of no-man’s-land traditionally regarded as magical.”

All of this brings me to the brand new e-book from George Dudding, The Silver Bridge Tragedy. Published on April 7 of this year, Dudding’s 48-page title focuses on the doomed bridge (and the doomed people crossing the bridge at the time of its collapse in December 1967, too) that plays such a significant role in John Keel’s classic, 1975 book, The Mothman Prophecies.

As the publicity information for Dudding’s book notes: “The Silver Bridge Tragedy occurred one fateful evening on December 15, 1967 when local citizens on both sides of the river at Point Pleasant, West Virginia were rushing home from their normal routine of work or shopping. Local and out-of-state truckers were trying to make their scheduled deliveries. High up on the superstructure of the 39 year old Silver Bridge, a critical flaw had developed in one of the eyebars.

“Unbeknownst to those in the heavy rush hour traffic below, a serious structural failure was about to happen and the resulting domino effect was about to plunge the small community into a shocking tragedy which, to this day, has not been forgotten. At 5:00 PM, the entire bridge over the Ohio River collapsed, resulting in 46 fatalities and 9 injured victims. The lives of family, friends and co-workers were forever impacted.”

Dudding is the ideal person to pen a book on the collapse of the bridge, as he grew up on a farm just a few miles outside of Point Pleasant, and he was on-site within an hour of the tragedy that claimed dozens of lives on that long-gone, December evening. And, as Dudding says:

“Recently, I was questioned about what I knew about the 1967 Silver Bridge disaster at Point Pleasant, West Virginia. After telling my story, it was suggested that I write a new book – except that I was to veer away from my usual topics such as UFOs and Bigfoot.” He adds: “So, I decided to get some things together and start researching information for this book.”

Source: Mysterious Universe
http://mysteriousuniverse.org/2015/04/mothman-and-the-silver-bridge/

- CREATURES FROM THE DEEP DEPARTMENT -

Argentina's Nahuelito Comes Up for Air

"It was as large as a person"

Nestor González Villareal submitted the photo taken on 20 February 2015 at 07:45 a.m. in the lagoon located only meters from the Argentinean customs checkpoint at the Cardenal Samoré crossing.

Nestor traveled with his family - all from the city of Coronel Pringles, Province of Buenos Aires. They were in San Martín de los Andes and decided to cross over into Chile. Early in the morning, while waiting for the immigration offices to open their doors, the man remarked that at that very moment: "My wife, her son and his girlfriend got out of the car. I stayed in the car with my wife's daughter. They approached the lagoon and said: "Look! A water skiier." I replied: "That's impossible at this time."

It was Rafael Olmos who took the photo with a Samsung-brand cellphone, explained the tourist to El Cordillerano. Nestor explained that after the photo was taken, "the creature disappeared, and I told my wife's son that he had just taken a photo of Nahuelito."

"You can see that it was traveling with some speed, judging by the edges of the wake it left in the water," adding, "it was really a neck and a head, and what was visible was about the size of a person, some two hundred meters (650 feet) distant.

Nestor said the following regarding the remarks made by readers of the on-line edition. "Without wanting to get into an argument about it, I know what a huala (the Chilean great Grebe, podiceps major- SC) after having seen them in several lakes of the cordillera and this wasn't one. All you see is a cylindrical body that emerges, ending in a head that imitates a cobra about to strike. It also displaces a good amount of water due to its size. If it was the animal in question, the nape of its neck isn't so voluminous and its back would be visible. Regards."

[NOTE: This alleged sighting of the elusive lacustrine cryptid did not occur at Lake Nahuel Huapi proper, but in a lake visible from the Cardinal Samoré checkpoint, possibly Lago Constancia, although the article does not say so. The great Lake Puyuhue is on the Chilean side of the border, suggesting perhaps a connection between the bodies of water in the "lake district", which are numerous. One wonders whether volcanic activity in this part of the Andes has disturbed creatures that may dwell in the lake bottoms, as the eruption of the Puyehue Volcano on June 4, 2011 was strong enough to send clouds of ash as far as Melbourne, Australia -- SC]

[Translation (c) 2015 S. Corrales, IHU with thanks to Guillermo Giménez, Planeta UFO]

Source: Scott Corrales, Inexplicata, www.elcordillerano.com.ar and Planeta UFO
http://inexplicata.blogspot.ca/2015/04/cryptozoology-argentinas-nahuelito.html

- THINGS THAT MAKE YOU GO HMMMM DEPARTMENT -

The Strange Tale of the Woman From Nowhere
By Brent Swancer

History is littered with cases of people who have mysteriously disappeared, but what are less common are the cases that go the other way around. What of people who mysteriously appear, with no known identity and no clues as to where they came from? What do we make of these enigmatic people who emerge from obscurity and into our world without explanation or any hint of who they are, as if they had never existed at all? One case from Norway certainly poses this question; a dead woman with no known background, no known previous history, no known killer, and an identity that has remained shrouded in mystery to this day.

On 29 November 1970, in the Isdalen Valley, in Bergen, Norway, also known as Norway’s “Death Valley,” an unidentified woman was found dead. The body was stumbled upon by a professor out for a day of hiking with his two daughters, on a remote hiking trail obscured by some jagged rocks. The woman was naked, and the horrified hikers were able to ascertain that the body was partially charred. Scattered about the corpse were found an empty bottle of liquor, a packed lunch, around a dozen pink sleeping pills strewn about, and two bottles full of gasoline. Police would later discover a badly burned passport in the vicinity as well. The hikers called the Bergen police, and an investigation was mounted, sparking one of the most perplexing and mysterious criminal cases in Norway’s history, and indeed in the world.

The initial autopsy ruled that the mystery woman had died of a combination of carbon monoxide poisoning and burns, and a blood analysis showed evidence that a large amount of sleeping pills had been taken before death. On the woman’s neck was a serious bruise that suggested some sort of blunt force trauma to the neck. An odd feature of the body was that the woman’s fingerprints had been completely sanded off. At the time, although the removed fingerprints were certainly odd, it seemed like a pretty open and shut case. The woman, whoever she was, had obviously gone out into the forest and committed suicide via sleeping pills, simple as that. Yet the mystery would only deepen from there.

Police eventually linked the woman to two suitcases they found at a Bergen train station, and the contents turned up several odd finds. For one, all fingerprints had been meticulously, and obviously intentionally, removed. A look at the clothing contained within the suitcases showed that all of the labels had been taken off of every single item, and that the garments were of an elegant Italian design. There was also a prescription for an unidentified lotion, but oddly, the date and the name of the doctor had been removed. Within a hidden lining of the suitcase was found 500 Deutsche Marks. Also found in one of the suitcases was some broken glass that bore partial fingerprints, although they were not enough to glean an identification from. A journal was found among the various belongings as well, but rather than normal entries it contained only a series of incomprehensible codes. Other miscellaneous belongings found in the suitcases included a wig, several eyeglasses with no prescriptions, and silver spoons. There was also a postcard with a picture from a famous Italian photographer.

Puzzled, police decided to make composite sketches of what they believed the woman might look like in life based on the appearance of her corpse and descriptions of witnesses. These sketches were released to a number of news agencies and also given out to INTERPOL in several countries, in the hope of gaining some insight into who she was. Once this was done, eyewitnesses who recognized the woman began to trickle in, and the mystery deepened even further.

It was discovered that the mystery woman had been travelling under nine different aliases; Jenevive Lancia, Claudia Tjelt, Vera Schlosseneck, Claudia Nielsen, Alexia Zarna-Merchez, Vera Jarle, Finella Lorck and Elizabeth Leen Hoywfer, all of which were found to be fake. Some sightings of the woman described her as wearing several different kinds of wigs, and it was claimed that she had been fluent in French, German, English and Flemish. The weird codes that had been found in the journal were deciphered, and proved to be the coordinates of places it was suspected she had visited, encompassing several areas around Norway and Europe. Dental analysis of the corpse showed that she had also had dental work done in Latin America, although this location was not among those found in the journal’s codes.

As for her stay in Bergen, it was found that the woman had stayed in several hotels in the area, and had exhibited rather odd behavior. It was said that she was prone to changing her room several times after checking in, and that at one point she had vehemently insisted on a room with a balcony. Other details were found by checking through check-in records. It was found that she had identified herself as a travelling saleswoman and antiquities dealer, and that the name she had used to check-in with was a false alias. It was also discovered through room service records that the woman had been fond of porridge with milk, a dish that she had ordered at several establishments. The woman was described as being an attractive brunette in her 30s, and around 164cm tall. Witnesses claimed she kept mostly to herself and did not speak to anyone, although one claimed to have overheard her say “Ich komme bald” (“I am coming soon”). She was also described as being somewhat guarded, and that she was a heavy smoker. The final sighting of the woman alive was when she checked out of room 407 of Hotel Marlin, paying cash and then riding off in a taxi.

Weirdly, for all of the witnesses who came forward claiming to recognize the woman from the pictures, not one family member, friend, relative, or anyone who knew her personally made themselves known. The closest thing police got to this was a startling case of serendipity, when it was discovered that the photographer whose postcard had been in the woman’s suitcase had actually taken her out on a dinner date at the Hotel Alexandra in Loen. When questioned about the woman’s identity, the photographer claimed that she had told him she was from a small village near Johannesburg, South Africa, and that she had made the cryptic statement that she had only 6 months to see the most beautiful places in Norway. Although certainly intriguing, this information would ultimately prove to not be particularly useful. Although the photographer had been accused and acquitted of rape in a previous unrelated case, he was not considered a suspect and was sent on his way. In the end, not one person who knew the woman personally came forward, and not one of her various aliases were found to be an actual real name.

The case got even stranger when a man eventually came forward saying that he had seen the woman on 24 November, 5 days before the body was found. The 26 year-old local man claimed that he had been out hiking with friends when they spotted a foreign woman wandering out in the forest. She was described as looking as if she were in a panic, and she had been wearing elegant clothes that were inappropriate for the a day out in the outdoors. When she had passed the group of hikers, the man claimed that she had seemed about to say something to them but suddenly thought better of it and continued on her way, after which a group of somber looking men dressed in black coats, also foreign, passed by, obviously following her. What’s really weird about this account is that it was given 32 years after the actual murder. When pressed on why he had waited so long to come forward, the man related how he had actually contacted authorities soon after he had recognized her face from the INTERPOL drawings at the time, but when they had questioned him he claims to have been told by police “Forget her, she was dispatched. The case will never be solved.”

The case of the “Isdal woman” has never been solved, and her identity remains a mystery to this day. There has been no forthcoming evidence and there has never been a suspect for the crime. Although the official statement is that she had committed suicide, the murder has created a great amount of speculation over the years as to her identity and has been the subject of several books. One popular theory is that the woman was a spy, and that she had perhaps been killed after she had gotten in over her head, possibly related to clandestine information or the purchase of radioactive material. Another idea is that she was murdered by someone she was close to for unknown reasons, perhaps jealousy or for money. To this day, no one knows for sure.

Who was this mystery woman? Where did she come from and what did she want? Was this a murder or a suicide? The case remains just as baffling as it did that day in 1970 when her body was found. With no new leads, no further evidence, and no suspects, the case has gone totally cold. She remains a nameless enigma with a face only known from phantom police sketches. The case continues to inspire a good deal of debate and speculation to this day, and is surely one of the great crime mysteries of the century.

Source: Mysterious Universe
http://mysteriousuniverse.org/2015/04/the-strange-tale-of-the-woman-from-nowhere/

- TENTACLES OF DEATH DEPARTMENT -

The Legend of the Oklahoma Octopus
By Michael Mayes

The mid to late 1970’s were a time when the general public was fascinated with dangerous marine life. Steven Spielberg’ Jaws was a mega hit in the summer of 1975 and studios scrambled to make similar films about the horrors that lurked beneath the surface of rivers, lakes and oceans. Films like The Great Alligator (1979), Piranha (1978), Barracuda (1978) and The Deep (1977) capitalized on Jaws mania and moviegoers flocked to the theaters. We just could not get enough. One such film that I remember well was Tentacles (1975). It seemed promising as it featured a giant man-eating octopus and starred actors that I had actually heard of like John Huston, Shelley Winters and Henry Fonda. While the movie was a disappointment, it did make an impression. It led me to look into the question of whether or not the giant squid or a giant octopus might not be the real animal behind the kraken myth and to read all I could about sea monsters in general. I wondered, could a beast like the man-eating octopus depicted possibly be real?

I was reminded of this movie recently when I received an email from a reader asking for my opinion regarding the Oklahoma octopus. I will admit to not knowing much about the story surrounding the alleged octopus-like creature said by some to be prowling several Oklahoma lakes. I had heard a bit about the alleged creature but had not invested any time in looking into the matter. After receiving the email and reminiscing about the summers of my youth filled with movies about aquatic beasts of all kinds, I decided to learn more. I am a sucker for a good story, after all, and this tale fit the bill.

Allegedly, Native American legends going back over 200 years tell of a strange aquatic creature with a taste for human flesh. The beast is described as being the size of a horse, with reddish skin and long arms or tentacles. Today, the creature(s) is said to inhabit both Lake Thunderbird and Lake Ten Killer. According to the myth, both of these lakes have unusually high numbers of drownings and unexplained disappearances of swimmers. The legend was given credibility in the eyes of many when it was featured on an episode of the Animal Planet program Lost Tapes. Is there any truth to any of this? Is there any hard evidence to suggest that an octopus-like creature inhabits these Oklahoma lakes?

I was not able to find much in the way of evidence. As a matter of fact, I really only came up with one intriguing incident where there is physical evidence of an octopus being pulled from a freshwater reservoir and it occurred in Arkansas, Oklahoma’s neighbor to the east. On December 1, 2003, Illinois resident John Mazurek caught a fair-sized octopus that was clinging to one of the gates of the dam at Lake Conway. Mazurek was out fishing when he spotted the octopus and grabbed it. The catch was confirmed by Arkansas Fish and Game officials who said they had no idea how the octopus found its way into the reservoir. They theorized that someone had kept the octopus as a pet but dumped it in the lake once it grew too large. This certainly makes sense but the dumping would have to have taken place not too long before Mr. Mazurek came along, as the octopus was still alive when he caught it. Just how long a marine octopus could survive in a freshwater reservoir is up for debate but most would agree that it would not be very long. Regardless, the capture of a living octopus in a freshwater impoundment, even if it was in Arkansas and not Oklahoma, lends credence to the legends.

Or does it?

There are numerous problems with the idea of a population of octopus, or any other cephalopod, maintaining a breeding population in an inland freshwater lake or reservoir in Oklahoma. The first, and maybe most damning, fact is that there are no natural lakes in Oklahoma. Zero. Nada. Zilch. Every lake of any size at all in the Sooner State is a man-made reservoir. No lake in Oklahoma goes back long enough to make the alleged 200 year-old Native American legends possible. Lake Thunderbird was impounded between 1962-1965 and Lake Ten Killer, though older, was built between 1947-1952. I suspect strongly that there are no Native American legends about such a beast and that these alleged tales were added by some yarn-spinner in order to make the monster sound more plausible. Supporters of the existence of the Oklahoma octopus would likely defend the myths by stating that the creatures lived in the rivers of the state prior to the impoundment of the reservoirs but this is a tough one to swallow, in my opinion, as I have found zero evidence that suggests Native Americans believed such an animal existed. I have found no documentation of these legends and been unable to find anyone who can tell me what tribe(s) is affiliated with the myths (If I am incorrect on this and there are credible sources documenting tribal legends regarding these creatures, please email me and let me know).

Many will argue that other marine animals can survive just fine in freshwater environments. Certainly, there are some such cases. The bull shark, stingray and, on rare occasions, jellyfish are the poster children for this argument. I would simply counter by asking, is there even one species of cephalopod that has demonstrated this ability anywhere in the world? To my knowledge, the answer is no. I do not feel the bull shark/stingray argument is valid in this case.

I might be more open-minded to the possibility of a freshwater octopus if the bodies of water they allegedly inhabit were closer to the coast. For example, if a beast like this were being described in the brackish waters of Sabine Lake in southeast Texas, Lake Pontchartrain in southwest Louisiana or even a river or reservoir a bit more inland like Toledo Bend in east Texas, it would be more plausible. Oklahoma is just too far away from a marine environment to be the home of a large breeding population of cephalopods.

Still other hardcore believers in the octopus legend point to the episode of the Animal Planet series Lost Tapes that featured the creature. The episode centers around a rather unconvincing bit of video where a splash is heard and the videographer wheels to his left in time to catch a glimpse of what might be a tentacle sinking back into the water. To be blunt, the Lost Tapes series is a complete farce that falls into the same category of other mockumentaries produced by Animal Planet’s parent, The Discovery Channel, that featured megalodon and mermaids. It is simply a travesty that these programs are produced at all on allegedly educational networks much less that said networks bill them as being factual. Anyone putting their faith in the existence of the Oklahoma octopus based solely on the fact that it was featured on an episode of Lost Tapes is building their argument on a foundation of sand and setting themselves up for embarrassment.

There are other points to be made that make the existence of the Oklahoma octopus unlikely, at best. Most of these points are addressed quite nicely by Elizabeth Bergey, Ph. D of the Oklahoma Biological Survey in the video below. This presentation was created by Matt Korstjens and posted on Caleb Lack’s Great Plains Skeptic website. The video takes a couple of detours regarding other exotic invasive species in North America and the unreliability of eye-witness testimony that are a bit distracting but the interview with Dr. Bergey is solid. Take a look.

Some may think it odd that a guy that believes bigfoot and black panthers are real flesh and blood animals would doubt the existence of another alleged cryptid. That is okay. The truth is that I simply do not believe everything I hear. Even someone as open-minded to the possible existence of undocumented animals as I am needs more to go on that what is available regarding the Oklahoma octopus. Based on what I have been able to find, and it is not much, I do not feel there is anything to the legend. It is too bad really. What a great story it would be. In the end, however, it is almost certainly just that alone, a good story.

Sources:

Lack, Caleb. "Behold, the Legend of the Oklahoma Octopus." Great Plains Skeptic. 4 Jan. 2014. Web. 5 Apr. 2015. .

"Fisherman Catches Octopus in Lake Conway." THV11.com. Associated Press, 4 Dec. 2003. Web. 5 Apr. 2015. .

Bergey, Ph. D., Elizabeth. "Liz Bergey's Page." Bergey Lab. University of Oklahoma, 1 Jan. 2006. Web. 4 Apr. 2015. .

Source: Texas Crypid Hunter
http://texascryptidhunter.blogspot.com/2015/04/the-legend-of-oklahoma-octopus.html

Sign up today for Bizarre Bazaar and Conspiracy Journal Magazines

Click on banner to sign up for two FREE magazines!

FRIENDS OF CONSPIRACY JOURNAL


PSN-Radio YouTube Channel.  Watch all your favorite webcasts
such as The Outer Edge.



Far Out Radio





Free Issue of Phenomena Magazine
www.mapit.kk5.org




Wm Michael Mott - New Book Available on Kindle



The Kevin Cook Show on Inception Radio Network


PSI TALK-The Internets Only Paranormal Web Station!


UFO Digest


Cosmic Horizons - Thursday at 8:00pm Eastern
www.blogtalkradio.com


The Paracast
Sunday, 3:00 AM–6:00 AM Eastern Time on GCN Radio

Conspiracy Journal - Issue 817 4/12/15
http://www.conspiracyjournal.com
Subscribe for free at our subscription page:
http://www.members.tripod.com/uforeview/subscribe.html